Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 8
Aurelio Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 8
I have a DCS-816 connected to two trunk lines that have caller ID enabled. However, the caller ID of incoming calls does not appear on the telephones connected to any of the analogue or digital extensions. On the analogue telephone, the only number that appears is the trunk number e.g. 706.

I have tried changing the appropriate settings in MMC 119, 300, 312 and 425, tried different countries in MMC 812 and tried reseating both the SIO3 and 4TRK-CID card but I have had no success.

If I connect the analogue telephone directly to each trunk the caller ID does display when there is an incoming call.

Is there any setting that I am missing or is there something else that could be wrong?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 140
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 140
CID on trunk lines on DCS816 will not work. It only works on OfficeServ 7xxx series. Samsung DCS provides Caller ID only on ISDN trunks (BRI or PRI.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Cid on pstn works on our 816's.
The 2 trk ports on the motherboard don't support cid, but as long add you have a 4/6trk cid card, it should work. Have you confirmed the carrier is sending cid with a cordless or butt phone with a display?
You won't get cid to the slt ports, only digital

Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 8
Aurelio Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 8
Yes, I have confirmed that the Caller ID is being sent by connecting the phone with Caller ID display to each line. When there is an incoming call, the Caller ID appears.

I also want to mention that I've tried connecting the lines to each of the 6 trunk ports just to make sure that it wasn't one port that may have been faulty but it didn't make any difference.

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 115
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 115
We have similar problems locally. Local Samsung support said they only support certain types of exchanges. We have what they call E10 and EWSD exchanges. Was always hit or miss situation so we never sold caller ID to customers.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Thinking about this, i've had similar issues here.

Some exchanges work some don't.
It's hit and miss with the 816. We've upgraded a customer to a Compact 2 or idcs100 as they worked where the 816 didn't.

Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 8
Aurelio Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks for the information.

I installed the DCS-816 to use it mainly for LCR and call logging by sending the SMDR to a PC via a null modem cable. Although it's been working quite well for these purposes, I would still like to upgrade to a unit that has caller ID.

What would be good one to upgrade to? I can't seem to find a Compact 2 or an iDCS100 for sale but there are a few OfficeServ 7030s. Would this be a good upgrade? Will the caller ID definitely work with this model? What about another manufacturer such as LG? The LG ipLDK-20 seems to be equivalent to the 7030.

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Blocked
Offline
Blocked
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Computer Telephony Integration (CTI) allows integration between the DCS-816 and a personal computer system (PC). Caller ID service is required on TAPI inbound call applications that use the CLIP information to display computer records in conjunction with the presentation of the call to the station on the DCS-
816 system.

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 140
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 140
Originally Posted by nameless
Cid on pstn works on our 816's.
The 2 trk ports on the motherboard don't support cid, but as long add you have a 4/6trk cid card, it should work. Have you confirmed the carrier is sending cid with a cordless or butt phone with a display?
You won't get cid to the slt ports, only digital


You are right, with 4/6 TRK CID card it should work theoretically. We never had CID TRK cards here, that's why I'm not fammiLliar with this functionality on DCS816.

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Samsung South africa as a rule does not support cid on analog trunks at all, even on the 7xxx series,as it was explained about the exchanges that it is a hit and miss, they took the stand and said that Samsung does not support cid on analog at all.


Dian Visser
Telecoms
Cogent Ltd

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,788
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 14 guests, and 36 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5