Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
cher Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
I am wondering if anyone has encountered limitations in features when going from an on premise PBX system to a hosted platform. I have heard that some solutions don't show extension appearances and I also heard one issue was a lag in transferring internal calls. I am wondering if anyone else has encountered limits on features that a client would expect to have when moving to the cloud. I want to be prepared.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
It all depends on who the hosted provider is and how they provide it. There is no real answer to this. Where one provider has issues another may not but at the same time have other issues of their own. If you rate hosted providers on a scale from one to ten, I doubt that there are any tens but plenty of ones and twos.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
Yes you will loose some things, not necessarily features, but there are things like the DSS/BLF but in most theree is and PC application that show you the DSS/BLf. There are different flavors of hosted so be careful. Yes your are dependent upon the internet. Some hosted solution still have a on prem unit which allows for internal traffic to not leave the local site but most hosted solutions do not have this.

Good luck in your research!!

Gary

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
For instance, we offer an IP Office hosted solution. It is the same system and features as a regular IP Office, except it uses strictly IP phones and SIP trunking. The IPO is hosted in the cloud, you have options on how the service is delivered to your premises, the voicemail portion is standard IP Office Voicemail Pro. You don't have to suffer with an inferior product from a hosted company!

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Offline
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
Originally Posted by Touch Tone Tommy
You don't have to suffer with an inferior product from a hosted company!

You are 100% correct Tommy. There are numerous hosted providers ranging from almost literally someone with a server in the basement to others with geo redundacy and 100% uptime SLA's, contact center, CRM integration and full UC features and functionality.

In fact the top tier providers offer trunking as well which enables them to implement QOS and insure sound quality.

Just do your homework.

Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
cher Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Maybe I didn't pose the question correctly. I am a telecom vendor and while I also sell a hosted solution I am wondering if anyone encounters complaints from clients because they lost a standard type PBX feature. For example one of my clients had an issue with delayed transferring. Took much longer than their PBX system. Using SIP phones that are not proprietary to the solution may cause a loss of certain features when using a phone (not PC). Loss of single button transfers, no extension appearances poses extreme frustration to end users.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
What Hosted provider is it?

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
OT, as there seems to be alot of PBX partners on this forum.
I've seen and used alot of cloud solutions. I don't have any issues with them - the only issues are networking issues, like ALG and stuff...

Our Avaya partner won't even do sip trunks on any prem solution if there is no SBC. QOS and all that stuff.....

TT Tommy. Do share some more details. I've never even knew there was IPO in the ~cloud~

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 717
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 717
Likes: 1
With the proper hosted provider you can do everything an Asterisk system can do, we us three providers. Quality, it is all about your internet connection. Not just speed, but jitter and latency. Like my previous post in another thread, I very, very, almost never sell anything anymore than a premise IP or hosted. solution. This is coming from a 35 year fart in this industry that started selling 1A2, LOL

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 717
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 717
Likes: 1
Also your LAN plays an equally important part, having the right tool to determine the quality of the WAN and the LAN is so important.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,826
Posts636,757
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
2 members (justbill, Toner), 173 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5