Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 63
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 63
Hello, Panasonic, Comdial Tech needing some assistance.
New customer called with a Call Pilot 100 on CICS.
One extension 22 (the bosses) having a couple problems.
When you dial 22 through the Auto Attendant, callers receive the recording "you have entered an invalid extension".
Apparently some callers can get through by dialing his name through the directory.
User also cannot log into his mailbox to get those messages, Hears "Invalid password" recording.
Password has been reset by user with same results.
I am trying to diagnose ahead of time before going out to the site.
Looking for at least a temporary solution until we can sell them a New system.
I made some remote test calls, when AA answers it sounds like a Hum on the line. I called right back a second time and no Hum and my call went through to X22 when dialed.
Thinking possibly a bad extension port or VM port?
Is there a way to make an intercom call to each voice mail port separately to help test when on site?
THANK YOU for any advice!

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
"When AA Answers it sounds like a hum on the line."
I would make test calls to EACH of your phone lines.
Bad phone lines make Humms.
Dialing 22 can have problems if:
....using a cell phone.
....using a phone with a bad keypad.
....dialing too slow.
Invalid password: you reset the password and still won't let him in?? Do they use Relocate to move phones around? Have you checked the mailbox setup and make sure the MB# and the EXT# match?
Test the ports? Not individually. But get 5 people to call the same DN for VM at the same time. 4 should get the voice mail prompt right away. Have them listen to make sure they sound ok. Very rare for a port to go bad.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 63
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 63
Heading there later today to give a look.
I am Not very knowledgeable on Nortel Voice mails.
I would like to get them fixed then upgrade to a new system.
Is there a way to intercom call each voice mail port individually to test them?
Thanks for your advice!

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 249
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 249
Also may want to check which extension number that mailbox 22 is associated with.

You can plug a Nortel phone into each port to confirm the port is working if you're unsure how to go through maintenance & find the VM port numbers.


www.highspeedtele.com
Dallas & Fort Worth, TX
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Originally Posted by ronaldjamesh
........ Is there a way to intercom call each voice mail port individually to test them?..........

Ronald: Read my last post (3 up) where it starts with "Test The Ports?"

If you go into maint you will find 2 DN's for Voice Mail. You can only intercom the Primary DN. You cannot call the other DN's.
Primary is found with F985


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5