Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#605395 11/08/16 05:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
I have installed a Summit 80 system at a location with only 1 static IP. The customer wants to use the mobile client. The problem is, his router only allows 15 ports to be forwarded and they are already using several for their security, cameras and some other equipment. I have the list of ports, but I want to know exactly which ports have to be forwarded to allow the mobile client to work? I would also like to be able to do remote programming. What ports are used for that? I know these are going to be basic questions for you guys, but we are just now starting to push the mobile clients to our customers.


Scotty Woods
Installation Technician
N.E.T. Systems
Blytheville, Arkansas
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
!5 ports is not enough for voip/sip. You would be better off to hang the Summit on its own ip in front of their router/firewall.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
I would love to, that is how I did the last one, but they only have 1 static IP.


Scotty Woods
Installation Technician
N.E.T. Systems
Blytheville, Arkansas
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
You need a second ip or you can put the Summit in the router dmz, and any request for a port that is not forwarded, in other words an unsolicited request from the internet, will be forwarded to the summit lan ip. AT that point the Summits wan security will take over.

Last edited by Derrick; 11/09/16 09:25 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Awesome! Thanks Derrick!


Scotty Woods
Installation Technician
N.E.T. Systems
Blytheville, Arkansas
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
I got it to work by forwarding the range of ports needed. (I didn't realize that they were in order) I only had to forward 5 ranges and it works like a charm!


Scotty Woods
Installation Technician
N.E.T. Systems
Blytheville, Arkansas

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,789
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 30 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5