Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
Installed an IP 900 with a PRI module. … Within 10 to 15 minutes of plugging the PRI circuit into the IP900, The PRI module goes off-line and no longer response to status commands. At the same time no inbound or outbound calls can be made. Comcast is providing the PRI via and ADTRAN. The NET3 LED on the ADTRAN remains green whether the PRI module is online or off-line. I have to restart the IP900, and the module is back online… But within several minutes of plugging it back in in a couple of calls, it is off-line once again.

We've replaced the main cabinet as well as the PRI module. Comcast does require eight silver table and the module is back online… But within several minutes of plugging it back in in a couple of calls, it is off-line once again.

We've replaced the main cabinet as well as the PRI module. Comcast does require A T1 crossover cable, so we use the one that was already at the customer site as well as made a new one.

The issue seems to be that the PRI module is going off-line, which causes the issue. ESI is saying it is not them because it's happened on two different systems… And I would tend to agree. The confusing part of this is that plugging that same PRI circuit back into the customers older Panasonic system… And it works just fine.

For testing, we have an ADTRAN 904 and our office that we use to emulate a PRI. I had that ADTRAN plugged into the system on the bench over the weekend without an issue. Take it out to the customer site in within 15 minutes the PRI module is off-line. Again two different systems and two different PRI modules.

Thoughts and ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Well, the first thing that comes to mind is what protocol is Comcast providing? Don't assume. They really don't know what they are doing. You MUST get a Comcast network engineer involved. He can tell you what they are providing. You MUST confirm ESF, B8ZS and NI2. Yes, I know, everyone thinks PRI only works on what I just wrote, but I have seen Comcast provide AMI and the PRI will be wonkie like it is for you. Also, they may be providing AT&T rather than NI2.

Second, what are your ESI PRI reports telling you. Are you getting Blue alarms? If you are getting Red alarms, the circuit is not configured properly. Blue alarms will usually point to bad D channel.

Finally, you really need to get a PRI analyzer. Really. You are trying to go to battle with Goliath Comcast with nothing. You don't even have a sling shot. The fact that the system ran OK in your shop really doesn't tell you much. Without running patterns and stressing the span, you are just making a physical layer connection and not knowing the rest of the story.

If Comcast does their typical DUH response, at least, look up the Panasonic specifications regarding their requirements for the PRI and that might give you some clues.

On this one, I agree with ESI. Once you swap out all the ESI equipment and come up with the same problem, it is likely the problem is the provider.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet

Moderated by  5years&counting, nonameyet 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,788
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 204 guests, and 91 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5