Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 9
Does anybody know what the code requirements are for bracing a 4 post rack, either nationally or in CA? I am in California. I was working today on a site that had their rack on wheels and no bolts to the floor/ ladder racking to the walls or anything else…
Any input is appreciated…

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Believe it or not, racks on wheels is okay. when a rack in being permanently mounted you have to have the proper contractors license but so long as is not permanently mount no license is required.

I've seen many racks not bolted to the floor just to get around that requirement


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Not from California, but as a former GTE employee (who had a large presence in CA) we used to get GTEPs (GTE practices) concerning mounting equipment (especially Central Office frames and cabinets). There was always an addendum for CA that called for earthquake bracing. As I recall they were pistons, kind of like shock absorbers.

I may be able to dig that up if you're interested. As far as a "code" requirement, I don't think the NEC would have much to say about a data rack. BICSI or the EIA/TIA? Maybe. I'll look.

Usually something on wheels is considered temporary and/or portable. I can't imagine any self-respecting or reputable data center allowing something to be put on wheels just to bypass a mounting requirement. And without cable rack/tray how do the cables get to the rack? Laid across the floor? Seems kind of sleazy to me.

In NYC we always bolted a rack down with at least 3/8" bolts. In COs and "Internet Hotels" (Level 3, Global Crossing) it was either ½" or ¾" bolts - all with double expansion anchors. If it was on a raised floor then we used the appropriate sized threaded rod and went down to the slab.

Sam

Last edited by Silversam; 02/03/17 04:35 PM.

"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
There is nothing in the NEC, however, there may be a reference in IBC-2013/ICC-2015. Since we are in Pennsylvania, we usually follow the AHJ, but, honestly, 1/2" bolts in the concrete floor and ladder to the wall with appropriate anchoring is all we do. I have never had a AHJ actually specify anchoring requirements. They are usually too concerned with what type of insulation in on the cable.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Here in N.J. they like to see the rack is grounded. Which can get interesting if you don't check your ground against the third wire ground in the outlet.


John 807
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Grounding each rack (Usually #6) is a given. In COs, Verizon requires cloth covered green wire.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 9
thank you everybody for your input!

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
The NEC follows the IBC rather closely these days and it doesn't' go into how a rack should be mounted or not. Codes like the NEC never tells you when you have to do something, it only states how it is to be done. There are other NFPA codes that will tell you the when part.

As for the BICSI, I don't think it covers the mounting requirements of when a rack needs to be hard mounted or not. I need to dig out my copy of the BICSI’s Information Technology Systems Installation Methods Manual (ITSIMM) to be sure.

The best thing to do is just contact your AHJ and see what they require.

Last edited by Mercenary Roadie; 02/03/17 11:05 PM.

Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Sam, is that cloth covered #6 still available? We use green #6 just not cloth covered and we check the potential between our ground and the ground the equipment is plugged into.


John 807
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
I'm retired 7 years, so I'm not the best source, but yes, we could get it when we needed it.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 11
ramo 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (Coral Tech), 46 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5