Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#607678 02/07/17 04:10 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Can someone refresh my memory how CID functions on 4.2 software... assuming, CID card installed and Telco service are enabled?

For some reason I thought the CID was only displayed after the call was answered. Or, that only 1 phone could display CID during a ringing call.

Thank you.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
CICS will all show CLID. MICS is either only 1 or as desired depending on your software.

If going through AA, it will be transferred to any set that the caller chooses.


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
I believe that 4.2 is one that can only go to one phone automatically. You assign one phone that rings to receive CLID. Now on the other phones that ring, it will show after they answer the phone. But if you want to see who it is before you answer, then press F811 to show before you answer. Now that can be tricky.
If you are on the phone and do F811 it will show ID of the call you are on. And if you are not on the phone but two lines are ringing which one is it showing.
I find it best to put that Feature code on a button.
Then when you want to check CLID info, I press the button twice, it then says SELECT A CALL, then press the ringing button ONLY ONCE. It will show ID in the window and you can scroll through for Name or number. IF you press the ringing line twice you actually answer the call.
Summary for a phone not showing ID.
It rings.
Press button for F811 Twice - it shows SELECT A CALL.
Press line button ONCE. It shows ID.
Press line button again to answer call.

This method also works for a phone that shows a line but does not ring.
See a line flashing (but not ringing) press F811, then the line flashing only ONCE. See caller ID.
If you want to answer, press flashing line again.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
OK. Some conflicting information here.

NT is this for both CICS and MICS?
MooreTel seems to suggest that CICS and MICS handle CLID differently when 4.2 is Installed.

This client will only move forward if CID shows on all ringing extensions. So I need to be sure. Perhaps someone else can chime in.

Thanks for the info.

Last edited by rustynails; 02/07/17 09:33 PM.
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Client will move forward with what?


Auto CLID:

Auto CLID only works on a set that has lines assigned to Appear & Ring or Ring Only or is the Prime Set for that line.

CICS - any software level prior to 2.0 CLID will only show automatically on only 1 set that has Appear & Ring or Ring Only or is the Prime set for that line.
CICS 2.0 and higher CLID will show automatically on any set that has Appear & Ring or Ring Only or is the Prime set for that line.

MICS -Any software level prior to 6.1 CLID will only show automatically on only 1 set that has Appear & Ring or Ring Only or is the Prime set for that line.
MICS 6.1 and higher CLID will show automatically on any set that has Appear & Ring or Ring Only or is the Prime set for that line.




=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Sorry RustyNails.
I did not see you say CICS.
My thinking went to MICS as that one has the issues with lower software not showing CLID on all phones Automatic


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
@curlycord "Move forward with purchasing a CID card, if and only CID will display on all ringing phones".

Thanks all for the clarification.


Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,785
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,648 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (nortelvoip), 177 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5