Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#609721 04/13/17 08:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
BalkyNY Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 81

Hi

Before I upgraded to 3.15 I had set up several mailboxes and extensions above 800 namely 826 and 900. PageParty was enabled, and when a caller pressed these numbers as an extension, it would page a party or they would go to leave a message.

Now, it just says INCORRECT ENTRY.

Why is that?


What does reconnect with PCMC mean?

Thx


TVA-50, TA-824 with 16 ext, 6 lines and a LAN card
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,102
Likes: 1
OBT Offline
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,102
Likes: 1
did you backup the old system before upgrading,check settings from old and new config to see what did not take/is different

PCMC is pc maintenance console I believe


“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
BalkyNY Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
Hi smile
I don't remember when backed up, but I have one dated 2015

What do I do with it?


TVA-50, TA-824 with 16 ext, 6 lines and a LAN card
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 305
C5Z Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 305
Version 3.11/3.15 were released to prevent callers from accessing trunks by dialing 8xx or 9. You may want to change those mailboxes to something else.


Instructions are just one man's opinion on paper
C5Z #609733 04/15/17 02:13 AM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
BalkyNY Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
I see.

Thanks

I used the new features:
Mailbox number ext start with Zero and mailbox number flexibility hoping it would fix it, BUT

I can create mailboxes and ext 001 and so on, 050 090 and so on, but when you enter them, system does not want to understand them unless they are accessed thru #1 search by name.
Is it also because security?


TVA-50, TA-824 with 16 ext, 6 lines and a LAN card
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
I may get in trouble with the moderators, but anyway . . .

It goes back to system design and what was years ago called "first digit table". You design or layout what will happen in the system when someone dials a one or a two or three (1st digit) and how many digits behind the 1st one all the way up to and including zero.

Zero was almost universally reserved to call the operator . . . whether the operator was a station on the PBX or outside of the PBX with the public network. Nine was for outside line access etc.

Almost anything that has a zero as a 1st digit that isn't calling the operator most likely wont' work.

Edward


Edward
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,102
Likes: 1
OBT Offline
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,102
Likes: 1
in system settings/parameter call admission table will block 8,9,0 by default. if you enable these in custom service they will only work for that service and not all services.

I don't know if they will affect someone dialling in from the system to mailboxes


“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”

Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,787
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, justbill, devben), 161 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5