Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#609821 04/22/17 01:00 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
My main shelf on a Tellabs T1000(LET-1) won't "see" the 3rd shelf of the system (LET-3).I have changed both ELU & EBC cards multiple times and changed the interconnect fibers between those 2 cards as well to no avail. Both cards show Active & Sync green lights but so do the protect cards as well where 1 of those normally should just be green Sync(the protect card).Is there an option in the provisioning menus to activate the slots they're in? I looked but didn't see, maybe I'm just missing it. Any help is appreciated.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,114
Likes: 3
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,114
Likes: 3
I don't recall working on a T1000 in my former employer's central offices. Have you reached out to Tellabs to have them take a look?


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
I never worked on a T1000, but it sounds similar to a DMAX shelf. On the DMAX, there was selector switch on the backplane where you had to set the shelf number. Maybe something changed there? What if you remove the protect unit and just run on one working unit, any change (or vice versa)? I know I had an issue one time where I had failed communication between shelves, and found out someone had bent the pins on the back plane when trying to insert a new service card. Had to replace the shelf to resolve that issue.

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
Yes it's the same as the DMAX. The selector switches are set correctly for 0,1,2 for LET 1,2,3. It does the same on the worker and protect. I'm thinking its bent pins on the backplane of the shelf too for slots 18 & 19 for the ELU cards. Will have to check & report back.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
I would suspect that is the case. Those pins are so small and fragile, they can be bent or broken very easily if the card is even slightly out of position.

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
My mistake. The 1st shelf ( LET 1 ) was set to 1 on the rear shelf flywheel and should have been 0. Set it to 0, reset the CPU cards and I can see all my shelves. So much for this system being "tested , turned up ,& accepted" 10 years ago. Thanks to all for your input.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
Glad it was a simple fix.


Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,789
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 53 guests, and 25 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5