Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#61048 11/29/08 06:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
DEV101 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
A little background:

I'm a systems engineer/programmer with 20 years experience. This is my personal phone system (originally from my dad's office), that I am trying to recondition for use in my office that I will open up next year.

I've taken my system out of moth balls. Due to being unplugged for so long (3 years), battery is low. DB is going to default. A few errors in logs, but I will change battery first, then go in through db studio and check config. (After I purchase db studio since I lost my copy).

question 1
Is battery off the shelf or do I need to order through dealer?

question 2
I see that there is kbd input. How is video handled on these units if bios setting needed to be updated, or if I wanted to interact with hard drive natively?

I made copy of drive data by plugging drive into other system. But I'd like to boot into system like a normal PC.

Question 3
Lastly, in log there were some curious lines:

-037- 12:00 01-01 M203 INF HW CP [2.0.0]: On-Line From DKSC Board
-038- 12:00 01-01 M539 WRN HW CP [2.0.0] (DKSC Board): Incompatible (DB Type =
+DKSC12 Board)
-039- 12:00 01-01 M203 INF HW CP [1.0.0]: On-Line From DKSC12 Board

Wondering what the "Incompatible" error means.

Thanks in advance.

Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
#61049 11/29/08 09:50 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,500
RCA Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,500
question 1
Is battery off the shelf or do I need to order through dealer?


Off the shelf.

question 2
I see that there is kbd input. How is video handled on these units if bios setting needed to be updated, or if I wanted to interact with hard drive natively?


The system will only support a video card during maintenance. The card must be removed for normal operation. If you want interaction with the hard drive, pull it out and put it on another PC as a slave drive. And by the way, the hard drive only handles the voicemail application, the phone system is run by the motherboard.

I made copy of drive data by plugging drive into other system. But I'd like to boot into system like a normal PC.

I don't know understand what you’re asking here. The only way to program this system is with the proprietary Axxent software connected by the serial cord or by modem. I know this Axxent looks like a computer on the outside but it's just a phonesystem that was shoehorned into computer cabinet.


-037- 12:00 01-01 M203 INF HW CP [2.0.0]: On-Line From DKSC Board
-038- 12:00 01-01 M539 WRN HW CP [2.0.0] (DKSC Board): Incompatible (DB Type =
+DKSC12 Board)
-039- 12:00 01-01 M203 INF HW CP [1.0.0]: On-Line From DKSC12 Board

Wondering what the "Incompatible" error means.


The only code to be concerned about is M539 incompatibility. Off hand that tells me that you have 12 port station board in the slot and the default programmed data in the system is looking for the older style board. Once this system gets properly programmed you shouldn't see that anymore.


Rhett
#61050 11/29/08 11:57 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
DEV101 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
I replaced battery and all was ok with cmos. Radio shack had it in stock.

The only reason I was wondering about video card and logging in was in case I ever lost bios settings and had to restore. I guess standard isa card should do. Just have to remove VM card because of conflict?

You are right about hard drive. Best handled as slave drive on another PC.

Thanks for reply. I will contact authorized dealer for config software. If you know a reliable dealer, please let me know.

#61051 11/29/08 12:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,500
RCA Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,500
The only reason I was wondering about video card and logging in was in case I ever lost bios settings and had to restore. I guess standard isa card should do. Just have to remove VM card because of conflict?

Correct. Yes you will need the video card for bio settings although it shouldn't have to be changed.


Rhett

Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Saying good by to all the rest of my toshiba
by SSPhone - 05/07/21 04:28 PM
IP Office 500 V2 crash
by Mercenary Roadie - 05/07/21 08:24 AM
Random characters on screen
by dougster - 05/06/21 06:49 PM
How to subscribe to get full access.
by Ruben - 05/05/21 09:29 PM
OS UNI Card Version Question
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/04/21 04:53 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,377
Posts639,660
Members49,454
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
KWH, PulseDial
Newest Members
Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA, Mackino
49,454 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 48
pvj 18
Ruben 15
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
NordVPN
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
33 members (dexman, hbiss, nameless, nortelvoip, Yoda, mbhydro, nfcphoneman, sundance, newtecky, BobRobert, pvj, Mercenary Roadie, CyberLaw, jeffmoss26, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, Curlycord, Bushmills, Carl Navarro, Professor Shadow, SSPhone, KRRath, Ruben, justbill, gelehu, dougster, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, hitechcomm, mongo5150, www.telcom1.net, Skunky, MooreTel, metelcom), 456 guests, and 82 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners