Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#611519 07/26/17 04:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
TNTJEFF Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
The state of Idaho is adding an area code and going to mandatory 10 digit local dialing on 8\5\17. I have several ADIX and ECS systems that are using optimized routing and it seems to be absorbing the area code when it is dialed or adding the 1 when it is not dialed on some systems. Any ideas on how to set up opt. routing to dial correctly when 208 or 986 which are the 2 Idaho area codes + 7 digits are dialed

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
In the ECS, you associate digits to be added or stripped with the appropriate tables for local and long distance calling. Associate a table number with each office code to add the local area code, associate another table to add in the 1 for long distance calling.

You always have to add the 1 back in when using OPT because the system sees that as a trigger to route using long distance tables and eats that leading digit.

Once you have n ECS dialing the way you need it to, change the view at the top from category to item to get the proper programming item numbers for programming an ADIX. The programming is the same if you know the item numbers involved. OPT programming is in Class 17.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
TNTJEFF Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks i did some extensive reading of the docs yesterday and i think i found the forms in 17 to adjust. Would it be possible to just put in 208nnnnnnn and 986nnnnnnn in the specific code\ bypass table to have them shortcut around the rest of the the tables and dial out.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
You can, but you may have to create a separate entry for each local office code. The ECS has a Trace Route tester in the Optimized Routing section. Do your programming then test outbound with the tester to see if it will work the way you think it should.

You could also try using the OPT wizard in ECS programming, but use care because it might overwrite something you need some other place in programming.

Last edited by JBean3329; 07/28/17 12:06 AM. Reason: spellink

Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
TNTJEFF Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Thank you very much for your help and your work as moderator


Moderated by  JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,789
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 68 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5