Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#613342 10/16/17 06:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
I mentioned this here a long time ago, but never got it resolved, and actually forgot about it for awhile. But the customer has politely reminded me.

SL1100 with lines from Mediacom. When the customer looks at their missed call list, they used to be able to just select a missed call from the caller ID list, and return the call. Now, since changing to the local telco (Windstream), the returned call fails and goes to busy. Because there has not been a "1" dialed ahead of the caller ID number. They claim this worked fine with Mediacom. Now it doesn't work with Windstream. Nothing should have changed in the SL1100.

I've added a 1 in 15-02-40 for the extensions, but no change. Previously someone had mentioned that I need to use Auto Route Selection (ARS), but that seems like a lot, especially when it worked before. I did play around with ARS but no luck, and not sure if I'm doing ARS correctly. I suppose ARS is needed to distinguish between calls that need a 1 and those that don't? Any thoughts on getting return calls to dial out?

Thanks.
Jim

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,481
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,481
Likes: 1
Windstream is requiring the 1 for local calls, your customer can try asking Windstream to change things on their end, if they refuse you will have to use ARS.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 365
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 365
There is a way to add 1 to caller ID callback. It's in the feature and specs manual, under "Caller ID - Manual/Automatic Callback".


Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,481
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,481
Likes: 1
Caller ID call return is for voice mail, (when a mailbox user retrieves messages they can have voicemail dial the number it logged for that message).
Again if Telco is requiring 1 for local calls ARS will need to be programmed and enabled.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
I was calling it 'call return', which is wrong. It's actually Caller ID Callback. What you mentioned Helpifican, was perfect. That did the trick. Thank you and my customer thanks you.

Jim


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,820
Posts636,739
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
2 members (Yoda, hbiss), 68 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5