Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#615280 01/09/18 05:51 AM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
SPERS Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
Is the only way to cancel the message waiting light is to delete and recreate the extensions? We have a bad IVP8 that is causing static on any station card it is put next to. Had to move the IVP8 to the second cabinet with nothing in either slot next to it but in doing so any phone that had a message waiting light lite can not be cleared and I assume it is because I reprogramed the IVP8 to another slot after deleting it from the main cabinet.
Or if I delete it from its current slot and reprogram it back into the original slot temporarily will I then be able to go to the extensions that have the message waiting light lite and #409 to clear? Would just delete and recreate the extension but there are a lot of them and each location has two phones. Lawyers...go figure.
Or is there a easier fix?
Thanks


Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
If it's a DK you can run prog 92-9 to clear the mw lights but that also clears the station call forwarding. If it's a CTX or CIX, delete the affected stations and recreate them.

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
SPERS Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
It is a cix670. Sort of thought deleting and recreating the stations was the only option. Thanks.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,918
Likes: 1
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,918
Likes: 1
Leave a message in the mailbox and then listen and delete it. This should clear the light.

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
SPERS Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
Tried that already. Doesn’t clear the light. Deleted mailbox and recreated mailbox. Light still on. Just going to have to go after hours and delete-recreate extensions. Not a problem just would like to have another solution I could do during buisness hours.
Thanks

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,650
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,650
Likes: 4
When upgrading a CIX's voicemail system I try to find all the phones with message lights on an turn them off before the uprade, because when you delete the voicemail extensions those lights get stuck.

If you have more then a handful of extensions, I suggest doing a backup and then initializing the system. This would also need to be done after hours, and verify that you have a good backup.
If they have a PRI do a power cycle after initializing, and set the Night key back to night if they have one.

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
SPERS Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 38
Got rid of the message waiting light but what a fiasco. I was on site and my boss said he backed everything up and had me do a restore. Wrong he did not back up the system and the card evidently had never been backed up to. So spent 8 hours reprogramming everything. Never going to do that again. On the bright side the message waiting lights are not a problem anymore. Most time consuming was programming FB as there was multiple receptionist with DSS consoles and almost every extension had multiple ADM modules. And all programmed different.

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,650
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,650
Likes: 4
That is one of my biggest fears. Which is why I usually copy the default.dat file to my laptop after the backup, just to be safe.

Hopefully your boss doesn't deny that he told you he backed up the system. I don't see how someone would install an SD card and never backup the system at least once. I usually backup the programming several times during an install.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 399
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 399
Originally Posted by newtecky
That is one of my biggest fears. Which is why I usually copy the default.dat file to my laptop after the backup, just to be safe.

Hopefully your boss doesn't deny that he told you he backed up the system. I don't see how someone would install an SD card and never backup the system at least once. I usually backup the programming several times during an install.

You mean it doesn't back up automatically after you insert the SD card or on a regular basis?

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,650
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,650
Likes: 4
Nope. Never did. Would be a nice option, but the backups are always a manual operation.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,820
Posts636,739
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 145 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5