Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Alright guys I'm stuck on this problem. The customer has a 7400 OfficeServ system. We recently moved them off of DCS 24 button phones over to SMT-i6011 phones. They about 40 of them in use. Some of them are part of a "call center" that take calls all day. It isn't actually set up as a UCD group, just a DID rings a group that they answer from. They are reporting since the move to the new phones they experience "disappearing" calls 1/5 calls. They say if they look at the display on the phone it looks as if the call is still there, the timer is still running, but they can no longer here the caller. The caller, when they call back, say they could no longer here the customer anymore, and not only that, but they could now hear another conversation. So it seems as if calls are being swapped around or something. Do I need to adjust some timer somewhere or something to keep these calls in the right place? Idk what else to try here.

System is on 4.92
All phones are on 1.40

They are all on one dedicated network, not shared with the computers.

What am I missing!?

Thanks


A1BizCom San Antonio TX
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Any advice is much appreciated. I'm on site now, so it'd be great to make some changes while I'm here.


Thanks


A1BizCom San Antonio TX
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
I would set up SMDR then try to duplicate the trouble calling in from a cell phone and seeing what SMDR records for the call.


John 807
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
What version are the OAS/MGI cards? Should be 2.05/1.30
What version are the LP40 card(s)? Should be 2.04
What version is the TEPRIa/TEPRI2 card? Should be 4.28
What codec are the handsets configured to use? I'd use G.711

There are syslog traces you can get from SMT-i60xx handsets these might help

4.92 was the first release to support the SMTi-60xx handsets, might pay to upgrade to 4.98

Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
I upgraded the software of the phone system to 5.01, and the problem seems to have stopped. I was thinking I may have to update the cards, though, and probably will if the problem persists.

"I would set up SMDR then try to duplicate the trouble calling in from a cell phone and seeing what SMDR records for the call." I'm not sure how I'd go about this!

Last edited by A1BizCom; 03/19/18 06:45 PM.

A1BizCom San Antonio TX
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 89
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 89
This was a known issue on SMT sets on V4.92 on the MP20 and MP40; V4.91 on MP10A. I had it occur at a couple sites and had to downgrade them after. It was fixed with the next software release. I think I also had to upgrade the OAS cards to V2.10.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Turn on SMDR options
Turn on SMDR lan printing (this enables the SMDR output on the lan interface, it's a legacy from the iDCS100 when you still has SIO ports you could use for SMDR)

Add your ip address to the management ip whitelist

Telnet to the IP of the MP40 on port 5100

Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by nameless
Turn on SMDR options
Turn on SMDR lan printing (this enables the SMDR output on the lan interface, it's a legacy from the iDCS100 when you still has SIO ports you could use for SMDR)

Add your ip address to the management ip whitelist

Telnet to the IP of the MP40 on port 5100

I still haven't checked this. Will probably look into doing it today.


A1BizCom San Antonio TX
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by nameless
What version are the OAS/MGI cards? Should be 2.05/1.30 - 2.05
What version are the LP40 card(s)? Should be 2.04 - 2.04
What version is the TEPRIa/TEPRI2 card? Should be 4.28 4.29
What codec are the handsets configured to use? I'd use G.711 - I just changed the DSP Type in 2.7.1 to G711. It was 729

There are syslog traces you can get from SMT-i60xx handsets these might help

4.92 was the first release to support the SMTi-60xx handsets, might pay to upgrade to 4.98 - I have them on 5.01


A1BizCom San Antonio TX
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Upgrade your oas card, though i doubt that's the issue.
I haven't heard good things about 5.01 sw.
Maybe downgrade to v4.98

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,785
Members49,648
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
alphaTex, Brian Wall, demapples, Harry Tinsley, rookhsd11
Newest Members
devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,648 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
Toner 11
pvj 11
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 185 guests, and 65 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5