Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Hi,

I am new and I am starting to learn about 1A2 phone systems as I might get one and tinker around with it as I love mechanical stuff. I already have a Merlin Magix in my house so I might install a 1a2.

.
I was wondering if any one would have a word or excel template of a 2565 designation strip as the 2 phones I have is missing the designation strip for the line buttons.

Also just for my own curiosity, was the 1a2 able to transfer calls? I know the smaller shoe box 551 ones would not have that feature but would big 1a2 systems have such feature?

Thanks

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Originally Posted by morephones
I was wondering if any one would have a word or excel template of a 2565 designation strip as the 2 phones I have is missing the designation strip for the line buttons.
Only have 6 cells for Excel it would be faster just to make one up real quick.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
I don't have a template. As the Professor says, it's only 6 buttons. Make one up yourself.

As far as transferring......

That depends on what you mean. If the 1A2 phone was picking up extensions from a PBX (that allowed transferring), then yes. You could flash the switch hook and transfer the call. If your phone picked up a POTS line that also appeared on someone else's phone then you would put the call on hold, call the desired individual on the Intercom and tell them to pick up the call.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 104
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 104
I have four PBX extensions linked to four CO lines of 551C shoebox. Incoming calls from the true outside lines (external dial-in numbers) are assigned in PBX to these extensions. So from KSU it looks like every external line is linked to each “button”. But it is only partially true, because it is indeed linked when call arrives on the “free” button. If it arrives on a busy one, hunting group in PBX will automatically move it to the next available button. If both buttons are busy - it will move it to the third, etc. So if I want to “transfer” the call, I either do it via PBX transfer function (as described above by Silversam), or put line on hold and call via other line=extension to another phone and ask to pick the line from hold. That was the idea of typical 1A2 installations: to cover the needs in communication in the environment where neither full fledged PBX nor switchboard with attendant will be justified by the scale of tasks or to expand services of PBX to provide control over several external lines/PBX extensions.

Example: Boss’s wife calls in. A secretary takes the incoming call on external line 1. When she recognized that she needs to transfer the call to her boss, she puts wife on hold, calls boss via intercom and announces: “Your wife is on Line 1”. Alternatively, if the boss is not at his place she can announce via Public Address (=Paging,=Announcement system), linked to special extension number of intercom system: “Mr. Smith, your wife is on Line 1”. Then boss can pick up this line from any station in the office having access to Line 1. Is it pure “transfer” to the required extension? No! Does it cover 90% of communication needs in typical office? Yes! This is where 1A2 surves that “fit for purpose”.

In my case I have 7 incoming dial-in numbers, but I’ve spread them across 4 buttons of 1A2 (via assignment of incoming CO lines to the extensions of PBX connected to 1A2 line cards), and I’m fine with that because I don’t need 7 lines+Hold telephones, but I can use standard WE 2565/565 ones and a 551C KSU with 4 line cards in it.


Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,834
Posts636,792
Members49,651
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
machinegod, Gtownpaper, Lazlo, devben, bubblegum
49,651 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (dans, Curlycord, bubblegum), 140 guests, and 25 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5