Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
New customer says that power went out. After that, system is up but no Voice Mail.

They can IP into the BCM and login without any problem. They can make phone changes if they want to.
Disk Drives status is OK.
The only thing they see is that Voice Mail Services has Stopped.
They try to Restart the services but it will not start up.

Any suggestions as to what to look for?

It seems like this is one of those "Just click on this and that." presto it works.
But for the life of me I cannot think of what needs clicked on.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Jim


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Sounds like the BFT Base Function Tray or the Hard Drive is failing.

Check BFT to see if caps look like they want to pop.

The green cap BFT's have a bad history and were replaced by blue cap BFT's.

Voice Mail relies on the Hard Drive where Telephony does not.
I think 3.6 or 7 does rely on the Hard Drive to boot up the system though.
Sometime a reboot will get it going for 24 hrs.

Finally it's possible maybe the Power Supply is failing.

Best to do a backup while you can on the Telephony side at least.



=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
First chance I have had to get back to you .
First chance to also work on the system.

Before I started working on system, this is the status:
Phones are working OK.
Can access via network and log into system - can make program changes if needed.
Can do anything on the phone side.
But Voicemail will not start up.
Voice mail is not working as well as AA.

Since the customer had a spare, I put in the system tray. NO CHANGE.
........And neither tray had bad caps.
Customer had purchased a Disk 3.6 so I put that drive in.
I put it in as Primary only - disconnected the RAID.
It does not boot up - Lights continue to flash.
Monitor on the VGA port shows no problems.
BUT I can get into system via the serial port and I get the Main Menu.

MY FIRST QUESTION IS:
Does that mean this disk will only allow me to do one of the Main Menu items:
.........Platform Initialization
.........System configuration
........Config Wizard
or........etc...

Now I am thinking if I do any of these, it will wipe out my Phone Configuration.
Can anyone verify this will or will not happen?

Since I did not know - I will not do that route at this time - since we have no backup or paper notes for backup.

Decided to take out new disk and put old back in.
BUT - I connected the RAID drive as Primary and did not connect the Primary drive.
This disk came up just like the other one did before I arrived.
BUT I still had the serial port connected and when the Main Menu came up I also
received 5 lines of : There is not enough space on the disk.
................................. There is not enough space on the disk.

So I am thinking, that maybe that is the reason the Voicemail will not start up ??
Does anyone agree or disagree.
I don't think there is any way to go in and delete anything - even if I knew what I could delete.
Anyone know how to delete?

I am thinking that I don't have many options here.
First - need to do a system audit and put on paper (or laptop Excel) while I still have access to programming.
Next - either platform initialize and start over programming.
.........OR since we need to start over programming - just start with a 4.0 system.

Anyone have any other suggestions?
Thanks

Jim


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
1 .Yes choices in the console will wipe out programming.

System Configuration = Level 1 - Wipes out programming
Platform Initialization = Level 2 - factory defaults and wipes everything including key codes

If I recall you can view the key codes on those older units in the license section?

2. Try this to delete the CDR files that tend to takeup hard drive space:
-Press option 7
-change drive to D: (or might be E:)
-change directory to d:\data files\nortel networks\call detail recording
-delete all the files (del *.*) and confirm. All files but one will remain
Do to both drives regardless of any errors or not

3. Have you done a backup yet?

4. Installing a 4.0 HD is a different beast, you would have had to get a key code to migrate the other keycodes to the new linux platform.
KRS is no longer supporting this and I think they no longer do any new generations.

Best bet is to re image the drive with 3.7 software (or buy a 3.7 HD) and do the platform initialization and restore from backup or program from scratch.








Last edited by Curlycord; 07/25/18 12:46 PM.

=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Curlycord:
Thanks for the answers.

Yes - we have a screen print of the key codes.
I was afraid programming would be wiped out.

This is first time I have been to this customer site.
He said that he used to do backups but they quit working a few years ago.
So - NO - we don't have any good up-to-date backup.

I am going to go to site tomorrow and gather what info I need off the screens - as a back up.

We are planning to go with the 4.0 - and migrate the key codes.

BUT - I will try your Option 7 first - see what happens.
So does it create CDR even if never set up to do so?

Have you done a DELETE ALL before?
No side effect harm? Just frees up space?

That would be great if that was the whole problem.

I will see what happens.

Thanks



If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
"So does it create CDR even if never set up to do so?"
I do not recall.

Too long ago I did that with a 3.7, the idea is it only wipes CDR.

I bet there are other commands to use as well but that looks to be the fasted way to delete the files in that folder.








=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
I did the procedure to delete the CDR.
It cleared up space.
But still cannot get the Voice Mail service to Start Up.

Time to upgrade to 4.0 or more.

Thanks for the replies.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
If it's the Hard Drive that is failing then do not do a software upgrade.
Since backups do not work as well then it has to be the hard drive.

You said:

"MY FIRST QUESTION IS:
Does that mean this disk will only allow me to do one of the Main Menu items:
.........Platform Initialization
.........System configuration
........Config Wizard
or........etc..."

You then said:

"Now I am thinking if I do any of these, it will wipe out my Phone Configuration.
Can anyone verify this will or will not happen?"

So thinking you were worried about losing programming with some of the choices on a replacement hard drive I sort of put this out of my mind thinking it was a used hard drive with programming on it.
If it was a new hard drive then don't worry about losing programming because there isn't any.

You need to choose Platform Initialization for the BCM to work with the hard drive.





=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Sorry about that. Wrong choice of words.

"TIME TO UPGRADE TO 4.0"

I should have said, Time to replace with a 4.0 system.

But - Customer did not go with my system from my distributor.

So I will see what they got.
He ordered online / phone - a 450 with R6 from someone I had not heard of.

I hope they sent a great 450 unit.

But that should bypass any problem with hard drive, tray, power supply and whatever.
New system. Should go well as long as its a clean system.

Thanks for all your feedback.
Starting on Thursday to program from scratch. About 85 phones and PRI


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Customer bought a BCM-450 with R6 and all new keycodes.
Had a lot of issues out of box - but was able to work through with a few wipeout or change of resources.

Finally got it going.

Just a couple of questions.
Do the M7324 CAP modules work on the new R6 - Customer is saying they are not working.
Ran out time after program and getting new system in service to check CAP modules.
He email'd me about them not working after I left for the day.. I have not been back to check out issue.
But does anyone know if they WILL WORK?
Will they work as a DSS or will they not work unless assigned as a CAP?

Cust tried to set up Voice message to a real Email.
But it will not show up in the Mail Box admin for mail box.
Can anyone guide me with instructions for that?
Never did VM to Email. With R6 it is suppose to work the right way.

Thanks for any feedback.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,788
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 188 guests, and 90 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5