Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#623464 09/12/18 06:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
zoomo Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Working with a STS system with troubles. First it is not disconnecting when far end hangs up. And second, when a call rings in any one on a other line get a loud data rushing noise on the line. Is this a telco problem or a co port problem?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
The loud "data rushing noise" is most likely the Caller ID signal coming in between ring cycles 1 & 2. You can assign a timer in the STS that will delay ringing for a few seconds so this signal is not heard. You could also have the provider remove Caller-ID.

The disconnect problem is almost always a problem with the provider. They need to provision "Cuttoff on Disconnect" on their end.

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
zoomo Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Thanks, meeting with Telco today.

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
zoomo Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
I met with the telco and they are going to change the equipment out. This is an Adsl circuit on a adtran device. To restate what is happening, is when calling in the auto attendant answers and i can hear the greeting clear. If other people are on an other line they get the loud rushing sound. If I hang up with out dialing an extension the disconnect signal will not release the line from the system.
I tested the disconnect on the system without voice mail and when far end hangs up it goes to dial tone without releasing the line.
Telco did not have a replacement at the time, but set the disconnect to 1000 ms.
Maybe this is truly a case of the blind leading the blind.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Another thing to try for disconnect is "d" instead of "D".
I ran into that with a DOS based VM and GTE CO lines.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (phonman123), 11 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5