Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#623701 09/20/18 11:12 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Will be proposing an X-16 system to a current client who has 2 lines plus a fax line. However, they needing external paging. I know I need an adapter and use a CO port.

The question is...
On this KSU, you have 2 options for the Prime line: Line or Intercom. If Line is selected as the prime and I use a CO port for the paging, will that port be selected automatically when they really want a line when they pick up the handset?


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
MooreTel #623705 09/20/18 02:19 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
I don't think so. In reading the spec's on the Valcom v-2000a only loop current is supplied back to the phone system so if the access were dialed for a outside line access there'd be no battery for the system to think it were an outside line to access it.

Here's the statement on Valcom's site:

In connection with a telephone system, the unit shall have the ability to provide loop current to the system for access. In connection with a telephone system page port, a "dry" tip and ring connection shall be provided. A battery feed switch located on the unit shall turn loop current on or off to the tip and ring connections.


Here's the document


Retired phone dude
MooreTel #623709 09/20/18 03:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
According to XBlue:

"External paging speakers can be used with XBLUE systems by connecting the paging equipment to an unused CO line port. System users access the paging system by pressing the associated CO line button."

Source of info


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
MooreTel #623714 09/20/18 05:01 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Dean, I know that....but if they pick up the handset 1st and their system is set for Prime to go to a CO line rather than the intercom, will it try and seize port 4 (the Paging) button or will it go directly to a CO line and bypass the CO port being used for paging? That's the question...


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
MooreTel #623716 09/20/18 05:47 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
I'd say no. It will not select the paging port.

Last edited by justbill; 09/20/18 05:57 PM.

Retired phone dude
MooreTel #623720 09/20/18 06:00 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
XBlue tech support just confirm what Bill said. Thanks.


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
MooreTel #623722 09/20/18 06:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Looking through the on-line manual* it does not appear to have the ability for line groups or CO line types.
So just connecting to an unused CO port, to a Valcom 2001A seems like plug and play (and a little wiring, but no programming).
Just access the CO line associated with external paging and there you go!

[Linked Image]

Ever try to read this particular manual on-line? Sucks


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
MooreTel #623723 09/20/18 06:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Thanks for the diagram but yes it does have line groups. If CO lines are selected as the prime when picking up a handset, you then get a choice between picking up Lines 1-4 and 5-6 if the KSU has been expanded.

BTW, XBlue recommended either the Viking 2APA or Valcom 2000A adapter...


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
MooreTel #623740 09/20/18 09:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 15
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 15
I would think that if the paging amp is on CO4 then going off hook would grab it only if CO lines 1, 2 & 3 are in use. Is that right?


Why do I have to press one for English when they're just going to transfer me to someone I can't understand anyway?
MooreTel #623744 09/20/18 10:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
It starts with the last line 4-3-2-1. If all else fails, I would have to connect it to CO-1


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,791
Members49,650
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
2 members (Curlycord, newtecky), 209 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5