Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#627494 02/19/19 10:56 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Hi, I have several eMG80 systems installed with various models of phone sets, LDP-9030, LDP-7024, and LDP-9224DF. The issue is random erratic lights on the keys. I have installed choke coils on the station lines and on the KSU's power cable and I have installed a OneAc Power Conditioner, no luck. Also, I have the KSU's grounded. Out of the 20 or so systems, I find this problem on 4 of my installs. It doesn't matter what model phone set I'm using or what firmware I am running on the KSU. Thanks in advance for your help.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 19
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 19
Sounds like possible database corruption.

Last edited by simpsoncomm; 02/19/19 09:40 PM.
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Hey Simpson thanks for the reply. It's a random problem. Maybe one or two sets out of the system have this problem. I have changed out the station cables and jacks, line cord, ect.. nothing helps. Rebooting doesn't seem to help either. I'm just about ready to get out the old chicken foot and bag of TIE ashes and do some voodoo.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Originally Posted by commtel comm
Hey Simpson thanks for the reply. It's a random problem. Maybe one or two sets out of the system have this problem. I have changed out the station cables and jacks, line cord, ect.. nothing helps. Rebooting doesn't seem to help either. I'm just about ready to get out the old chicken foot and bag of TIE ashes and do some voodoo.


Since you used the word TIE...

I had the same issue with a TIE Mod-Key 16 many years ago (apparently) I replaced EVERYTHING associated with the set (EXT 01)~ KSU/Expansion Card/Wiring/Keyset/Base Cord/Jacks/X-connects and even everything associated with EXT 02. The Mod Key 16 for some reason something had a knack of having problems with one set actually affect a set not associated with it. It ended up being EXT 16 which the End User never having a complaint.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
We have a ton of these out there and don't have a problem like this. The only one that came close was a phone that was over 1000' away from the KSU. I'm assuming you're using Cat 3 or above for cable?

Have you noticed if there is a certain combination of sets on each problem system?

Are you able to duplicate the problem yourself, or is this just something the customer sees?

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Hey Professor. Right on about the old TIE Mod Key's. That was a few decades back. I always suspect a dirty AC circuit as the culprit. Thanks for the response.

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 84
Hi NFC, Thanks for the response. I have many other eMG80's out there that are working just great, I'm installing 2 more later on this month. It's just these few that are having the problem. I have witnessed the offenders in action. Just yesterday I watched an LDP-7024 light up with all three colors and the display read: REG. DENIED : 106, it also showed the date and time with the pickup, conf, and log soft key. I unplugged it then plugged it back in, it rebooted and worked fine for about 10 minutes then start acting up again, I can take another phone and plug it into the same jack (106) and it will start acting up after a few hours. This particular phone (106) is riding on new CAT5e cable. However, the rest of the sets are on CAT2 25 pair, but their fine, no problem. Also, all of the systems are running the same model of phone, no mix.

Do you think the cable could be the cause?

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
Cat 5e shouldn't be a problem. If you were using some old quad wire, then perhaps.

I would try disconnecting the phone from the wire and plugging it directly into the KSU. We've had a bad crimp on a modular plug cause weird things on these systems.


Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,785
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,648 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 14 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5