Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Officeserv 7030 Phone Upgrade
#629080 04/13/19 10:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 26
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 26
Apologies in advance I am pretty much a novice with these systems, so thanks for all help provided.

I have a customer who has an Officeserv 7030 system with 8 digital handsets, which I believe is the maximum number supported. They need to add another handset, I saw something which suggests there are 2 analogue ports on the system. Is this on all 7030 systems? If so does it need any additonal daughter cards installed to use these ports? Can any analogue phone be used or is it only specific models?

I beleive another option to increase the number of handsets would be to use IP phones. Does this require any additional software licenses or daughter boards to use IP phones?

Sorry again for the novice questions, but the little experience I have with Officeserv systems has only been with the digital DS handsets.

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Officeserv 7030 Phone Upgrade
Martin62 #629081 04/13/19 02:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
The two analog ports are built in to the system, so no other cards are needed. The two ports are beneath the digital ports on the switch. Most any analog phone will work.

You will need to license MGI channels to allow the IP phones to talk to the legacy phones. Since Samsung is getting out of the phone system business very soon, you may want to get your licensing done quickly, or consider replacement of the entire system with something that will be supported for more than just one more year.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Re: Officeserv 7030 Phone Upgrade
JBean3329 #629084 04/13/19 06:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 26
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 26
Thanks for confirming about the analogue phones JBean3329. I have said to the customer a few times about changing the phone system and that ISDN is planned to be turned off in the UK by 2025, but they are a bit set in their ways and won't look at other alternatives.

Re: Officeserv 7030 Phone Upgrade
Martin62 #629086 04/13/19 06:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,567
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,567
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by Martin62
ISDN is planned to be turned off in the UK by 2025, but they are a bit set in their ways and won't look at other alternatives.


My Future Tech self predicts when 2025 rolls around call


[Linked Image]


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Officeserv 7030 Phone Upgrade
Martin62 #629115 04/15/19 08:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
You could get a second unit on the 7030

Re: Officeserv 7030 Phone Upgrade
Gerrya #629909 05/19/19 03:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 26
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 26
Haven't done much on the Samsung systems, I found this link - http://www.rocom-nimanssupport.co.u...install_an_OS7030_with_Slave_cabinet.pdf is that pretty much what is required to connect a 2nd box.

I tried an analogue phone and could make a call, but the extension didnt ring when the main number was called and I could't see a way to assign an extension number to the analogue phone. What have I missed.

Re: Officeserv 7030 Phone Upgrade
Martin62 #629917 05/20/19 03:46 AM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,205
pvj Online Content
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,205
To ring , if it goes to a ring group then the extension needs to be added to the group in order to ring.
Extension numbers can be assigned in mmc724 . It should have had an extension assigned when the system was first installed.You can see the extension number of the analog port by calling a display set .


Moderated by  Genesiscomm, nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
test telephone number
by dude - 11/30/20 07:51 PM
DSU Serial Ports
by tylan - 11/30/20 07:21 PM
SVMi20i Error
by Bushmills - 11/30/20 07:00 PM
XTS database downloads crash
by EV607797 - 11/30/20 03:37 AM
9100 sip trunk
by juno - 11/28/20 09:51 PM
Who's Online Now
26 members (EV607797, Skunky, Greg Ercolano, Mercenary Roadie, nortelvoip, pvj, hbiss, brokeda, Yoda, Coral Tech, justbill, MooreTel, Touch Tone Tommy, BobRobert, Bob3470, hitechcomm, metelcom, Professor Shadow, Ben Holmes, JBean3329, tylan, Daniel, cswroe, AKP, nameless, dude), 337 guests, and 50 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,091
Posts637,981
Members49,386
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
David Gillish, jkdawsey, kitjr123, MP Telecom, stephen1905
Newest Members
drextech, d_chats, LukeS, RickToshibaCIX, Geochurchi
49386 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
ABLE1 11
Daniel 10
hbiss 9
dans 6
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners