Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#629556 05/02/19 08:41 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Hello everyone. I'm not sure this is the place to put this but here goes. I have an old Kellogg D1000 phone I want to rewire to work on our existing phone line. I can get dial tone through it but no side tone and can't break dial tone. Can someone tell me how to rewire it so it will work? I have a DTMF converter to put in the line. Thanks in advance.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,305
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,305
Dean's 3rd reference is the one you want for your Kellogg "Redbar" phone
Follow the instructions for Common Batter, and Metallic Ringing. Hopefully you have a "straight-line" ringer, many that I came across had harmonic ringers used on party lines. Also check the dial contacts, that the pulse contacts are opening and that the off-normal contacts are not shorted.

You're fine posting here, but we do have a forum dedicated to antique telephones here
https://sundance-communications.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/forums/45/1/antique-telephones

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Guys, you are a life saver! I will play with the lashup later today and see how it works. I will post a reply later. Thanks so much.

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
No, I have no paperwork on it. Picked it up at a yardsale. We have my wife's grandmothers telephone bench and want to put both in our living room. The third reference does not appear to show how it should be wired unless I am missing something. Please advise.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6
Here is a great source for information TCI Library

Also the instruction that Touch Tone Tommy said.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Touch Tone Tommy, I am going to assume you mean the 3rd link that professor shadow posted. It is the book on the Kellogg D1000 red bar. As the phone is a D1000 BA I will also assume you make all the strapping connections under BA in the charts on page 8.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6
Of course you never know if someone previous to you has rewired the phone. Always write down what you chance so you can rewire it if it doesn't work as advertised.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 9
Thanks guys. I finally moved a couple of wires and got it working, even without the DTMF converter. I can dial out and answer calls just fine.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,715
Likes: 6
Good to hear. Thanks for letting us know. Which wires needed your attention?


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,379
Posts634,605
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
dcttech, George/wa2vnv, telesalesrep
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 21
dexman 11
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
2 members (metelcom, phonemanstevef), 12 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5