Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#630249 06/05/19 12:51 AM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Hi All,

So I can no longer order a POTS line. What a PIA. So much for the phone company.

I guess that I will now have to get a VOIP service. I know nothing about VOIP.

I want to start with two phone numbers (two lines).

I am thinking about ordering a Cisco SPA112 telephone adapter.

I have already ordered a Dial Gizmo to convert pulse (rotary) to tone. Will need a second one for two lines.

I am thinking about using Via Talk.

Any thoughts, suggestions or comments?

I want to play telephones with my 1A2 system, but cannot get POTS lines!

Thank you very much!

Joe Herdler


Real comms took 200lb teletypes, hand keys, sounders, operators and cranked phones!
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,204
Likes: 4
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,204
Likes: 4
Just read this. Any cable company can give you digital Pots lines that work as good as Pots lines

Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Originally Posted by TeletypeJoe
Hi All,

So I can no longer order a POTS line. What a PIA. So much for the phone company.

I guess that I will now have to get a VOIP service. I know nothing about VOIP.

I want to start with two phone numbers (two lines).

I am thinking about ordering a Cisco SPA112 telephone adapter.

I have already ordered a Dial Gizmo to convert pulse (rotary) to tone. Will need a second one for two lines.

I am thinking about using Via Talk.

Any thoughts, suggestions or comments?

I want to play telephones with my 1A2 system, but cannot get POTS lines!

Thank you very much!

Joe Herdler


I just saw this also, and I figured I would chime in, google voice is a good bet. Its mostly free. You would need an obitalk ATA,, it supports google voice and others as well. Google voice however does not have their own E911 system, so I answered that with call centric which the obitalk ATA is compatible with that also. If you want to know more you can PM me.

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 11/04/19 11:58 PM. Reason: Made a mistake with link
#633606 11/04/19 11:59 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Here is the linkobitalk ATA

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 11/05/19 12:00 AM.
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
If you just want a few lines to "play" with (demonstrate) your 1A2 and other toys, consider using a Panasonic key system, and wire the single-line ports to the inputs of your 1A2.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
Arthur is right. I keep a KX-T system just for that purpose! I even used it just last week to bench test a call routing program on my last install.


- Dave S. -

You can never appease your ideologue opponents.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,579
Posts635,605
Members49,577
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Ashley, Bob Truitt, JALinker, Leeb
Newest Members
chyc, LostieWitness, djringjr, ScottRSA, Adam B
49,577 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
bobw 11
dexman 6
Who's Online Now
3 members (jeffmoss26, Coral Tech, muddybl), 12 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5