Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Hi,

I was wondering what the most expedient way of over head paging might be. Was there a specific KTU for this purpose? Or was it done with just relays. I am ordering a Northern Electric call director from Thephoneco. inc tomorrow, and would like to make one of the buttons, er, keys, to be for overhead paging with an amplifier and ceiling speakers. Then I can page my wife to bring me a beer... like she would :-)

Thank you in advance,

Joe


Real comms took 200lb teletypes, hand keys, sounders, operators and cranked phones!
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
You could use an ITT KSP 401PA connected to the intercom . That way you aren't using a button, er, key.

Paging Adapter Circuit

or something like a Melco KA380 Paging Adapter



Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
What Dean said.

Or, if you can't find a 401PA and have a spare button on the set (which you will with a call director) you can connect a regular 401 card through a Bogen WMT-1 (or equivalent) to a PA system.

If your paging is going to be limited you can connect the 401 directly (without a WMT-1) to one or more Spokesman/Orators.


Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Hi Sam,

That is what I was thinking of doing. Is there some way to make one of the buttons for this purpose not stay down when pushed? (Like the hold key on a multi-line phone.)

Thank you again,

Joe


Real comms took 200lb teletypes, hand keys, sounders, operators and cranked phones!
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Yes. Wish I had a picture of the key strip.

Open up the keyset and press one of the line as if making a call. Press down on the hook switch and watch the bar move from left to right. This will pop up the active line and change the line status from off-hook to on-hook.

You will see a little screw that the bar acts upon to release the line (button...whatever). Look at the Hold Key and compare.

I'm digging back over 25 years ago so I'm probably not making sense.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 451
Thank you!

I will do that when my call director arrives. I just yesterday ordered a green Northern Electric 18 button (er, key) unit from Thephoneco Inc,, and cannot wait for it to arrive. I have a lot of work to do to get a KSU ready for it, I doubt that my lunch box will be big enough!

Thank you again1

best,

Joe


Real comms took 200lb teletypes, hand keys, sounders, operators and cranked phones!
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Dean beat me to it again!

Yes, there's a little screw on the key that latches on the bar. Unscrew it all the way and remove it completely (you will need a small slotted screwdriver). Test the button - it should now be completely non locking (we used to do this for "button and buzzer" intercoms to buzz one particular station). Tape the screw inside the set so it will be available to restore the button at a later date.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,785
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,648 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 184 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5