Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#630211 - 06/02/19 05:53 AM Option 66 or 160  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,496
newtecky Offline
Member
newtecky  Offline

Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,496
Irvine, CA US
We have a lot of phones form various customers on a VoIP service. When we set them up we used manual configured the Provisioning server to an FTP location.

We need to move all the phones to a new service with uses a different provisioning server using HTTPS. For a few smaller sites this basically required manually updating the provisioning server in the phone and rebooting. This is a bit time consuming. Als, the current configuration of the phones have the WEB interface disabled, so I have to touch each phone.

We don't have access to Polycom Zero Touch Provisioning server, but even if we did we would probably have to default every phone

It looks like I may be able to use DHCP option 66 or 160 to push out the Provisioning server info. I tried using option 66 this briefly but couldn't get it to work (limited time frame to do any much testing). The test phones was setup for Custom + option 66, but it is possible that some phones may be set to Static.

Has anyone been able to use either option 66 or 160 to change the provisioning server information?

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#630254 - 06/05/19 04:05 PM Re: Option 66 or 160 [Re: newtecky]  
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 172
Daniel Offline
Member
Daniel  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 172
St Louis, MO
If the phones are still set to use an ftp server for provisioning then why not put a new config file there for them to grab that has the new provisioning server location?


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
#630274 - 06/06/19 01:06 AM Re: Option 66 or 160 [Re: Daniel]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,496
newtecky Offline
Member
newtecky  Offline

Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,496
Irvine, CA US
Thanks. The config files are on an FTP with our current service provider that we resell . We want to switch the phones to a new carrier host and I don't think our current service provider will give use write privileges on their FTP site (although I haven't tried yet).

I did find out that DHCP option 160 worked well as a test using a factory defaulted VVX series phone. Next test will be to try this with phone that is already provisioned.

#630406 - 06/11/19 01:10 PM Re: Option 66 or 160 [Re: newtecky]  
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 172
Daniel Offline
Member
Daniel  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 172
St Louis, MO
It is possible that your existing provider has shut that down. You may not be able to reuse those phones at all.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
#630432 - 06/12/19 08:27 PM Re: Option 66 or 160 [Re: newtecky]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,496
newtecky Offline
Member
newtecky  Offline

Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,496
Irvine, CA US
I was able to re-provision phones manually, and I was also able to option 160 , only if the phones are set to Custom + option 66 . If the phones are set to static then it seems to ignore the DHCP option.

This seems to work on a small scale . I just have to try it out on 60 + phones all at one time. It looks like as long as the phone is not set to Static instead of Custom + Option 66 that it wake the option 160 from DHCP after a reboot.

I could have done the testing first, but I was just curious if anyone else has done this before. Using DHCP should be easier then trying to modify the cfg files.

I don't think that these phones are locked to the old service. I was able to change several phones to the new provisioning server without any problem. If they were locked then we could ask them to remove the phones from the redirect servers, since they aren't leased. The admin password on all the phones are default, but their configuration file disables the phone's web GUI, which is unfortunate.


Moderated by  hitechcomm 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
Green Acres
by John807. 06/15/19 02:08 AM
WIN 100D
by mfecko. 06/14/19 07:11 PM
DK SUB40 CID Question
by Duane F.. 06/14/19 04:20 PM
7030 looses memory and handset clone
by DavyWavySheffiel. 06/14/19 01:18 PM
Paging System
by Curt Davis. 06/13/19 05:29 PM
Who's Online Now
26 registered members (OBT, R4+Z, Mercenary Roadie, pdxjim911, justbill, Professor Shadow, hbiss, Yoda, morephones, mc601, BobRobert, jeffmoss26, dexman, JBean3329, gelehu, jknichols, Bob3470, Starblazer, 1864, Noobed2336, ChrisRR, RATHER BE FISHING, C5Z, Touch Tone Tommy, Regan, mbhydro), 264 guests, and 851 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
Alucio, Curt Davis, LewisIzabella, Matthew McCoy, ImNotThePhoneGuy
49040 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,535
Posts629,536
Members49,041
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
dag, dtedave
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 36
Daniel 17
C5Z 16
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap