Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Do you do your own fiber terminations?
#630707 06/24/19 04:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,277
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,277
The few times I've installed any fiber, I've measured carefully, added some extra, and ordered the connectors and a pulling eye installed from my supplier. We're typically talking about a 6 fiber multimode cable.

I know the cost and complexity of installing your own terminations has gone done over the years. Is it worthwhile to do you own, for a few terminations now and then? I would have to factor in the purchase of some fiber tools and a tester. Is the fiber and individual components that much less expensive than when purchased installed? I suppose I wold be looking at a 1,000 foot or more spool of fiber sitting around between jobs.

Thanks.
Jim

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Yoda #630708 06/24/19 04:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,549
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,549
Likes: 1
I would haphazard to say it's along the same lines as:

Pre-made patch cords vs off the shelf
Pre-made patch panels vs terminating yourself
Pre-made 25pr cables vs using a butterfly tool

Testing vs Certifying are a completely different animal $$$. Of course you can always Rent-a-Fluke.

These observations are from that as a worker bee rather than the person shelling out the bucks.

Other than fiber patch cords we just ordered the reels of fiber...probably 5-10 jobs a year.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Yoda #630802 06/29/19 01:52 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,128
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,128
Use to always do our own terminations. Now, I prefer to order pre-terminated.

Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Yoda #630804 06/29/19 02:34 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
I guess it really depends upon the job, but I have to say that whenever possible, I specify pre--terminated cables. Like you said, carefully measured, plenty of slack on both ends, etc. The other thing I do is to get pulling eyes on BOTH ends of the cable, especially if it's being pulled into conduit underground. You never know what you'll encounter in those situations, especially if it's old conduit. It's worth the extra money for the peace of mind of knowing that you have some flexibility, for example if you need to pull in both directions from a center point.

Still, we keep the tooling and connectors on-hand for field repairs and occasional jobs where pre-terminated cable isn't an option.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Yoda #630807 06/29/19 01:58 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,979
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Online Content
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,979
For crimp on connectors I liked Unicam - a lot! Of course nothing beats fusion splicing, but it's a lot more expensive. I don't know prices anymore, but how many factory installed heads would you have to buy before picking up a Unicam kit and a bag of connectors becomes cost effective?

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Silversam #630812 06/29/19 11:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,128
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,128
Originally Posted by Silversam
For crimp on connectors I liked Unicam - a lot! Of course nothing beats fusion splicing, but it's a lot more expensive. I don't know prices anymore, but how many factory installed heads would you have to buy before picking up a Unicam kit and a bag of connectors becomes cost effective?

Sam


I find that I can get the fiber pre-terminated cheaper than buying all of the parts. Of course, we only do the Unicam terminations and they tend to be pricey.

Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Yoda #631179 07/16/19 09:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,277
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,277
Thanks for the responses.
I'm going to keep ordering pre-terminated cable, for now. I'm not doing enough of it to make it pay for the tools, supplies, training and inventory.

Ed, Good point about pulling eyes on both ends, for underground conduits. I like that idea.

Jim

Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Yoda #632225 08/26/19 07:18 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 4
I used to prefer pre-terminated cable, ordered usually from Fiber Instrument Sales, then we started getting into more and larger jobs. Along comes the fusion splicer, OTDR, optical loss test set, VFL and several name-brand mechanical termination kits. CommScope is my choice for reasonably-priced, easy-to-use, mechanical connectors that do not need specialized tools to install.


Synacom Networks Inc.
3764 Harlem Rd.
Buffalo, NY 14215
716-839-5011
Re: Do you do your own fiber terminations?
Yoda #632305 08/28/19 08:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,480
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,480
Pre-term here as well. But I do a good bit of Leviton Fast cam connectors. Fast and work well.


Moderated by  Professor Shadow, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
nickname for cabling scraps? mongol?
by temp001 - 10/29/20 04:18 AM
SL1100 dialing problem
by teleco - 10/28/20 07:30 PM
Zoom voip
by BrianS - 10/28/20 01:43 PM
Forum Update Pending
by Ruben - 10/27/20 06:51 PM
Toshiba DK 280 VMID
by adteldon - 10/27/20 04:18 PM
Who's Online Now
34 members (temp001, newtecky, ChrisRR, Curlycord, phonemeister, Mercenary Roadie, Yoda, justbill, paulw, hitechcomm, EV607797, Silversam, hbiss, phonman123, dexman, Farquie, Touch Tone Tommy, JBean3329, Ted, Professor Shadow, BobRobert, ToshiGal75, BTS01, Bob3470, teleco, davescomm, dans, Meyery2k, MooreTel, dude, Ruben, Corrupted DNA, Herk, RATHER BE FISHING), 536 guests, and 89 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,037
Posts637,697
Members49,370
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
dpmcintyre, mcando
Newest Members
DynaAdmin, Nickonicle, chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73
49369 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 12
Daniel 11
hbiss 10
Toner 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners