Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue
#631066 07/11/19 04:20 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
I've installed a brand new NS700G in a restaurant, analog trunks, 2 - DT543 phones, 2 - WT125 dect handsets, 2 - 0155 dect antennas. I'm having an issue with one antenna location(its located on the center island of a back bar area), where the phones frequently fail to connect to that antenna whether making or receiving calls. I've spoken with Panasonic support and verified all software versions. I also did the CS master delete and reregistration procedure from support, didn't help. I've swapped antennas, swapped ports they are on. I've tested the cable(passed a Cat5e test, its about 150ft run), I've defaulted the system twice trying to initialize the system on each of the two antennas with each being the master. A phone works fine on that cable and port. The two antennas are about 75ft apart. I've never ever run into an issue with these antennas, and I've probably put in 150 of them over the years(not many on the NS700 though), always seem to work no matter where they are placed.

Pulling my hair out on this, starting to think maybe there is some interference from something, but don't know what or even how to test for it. Any ideas would be appreciated.

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue
MichaelV #631068 07/11/19 06:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 317
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 317
Likes: 1
If it is the only one on the system does it work?


Is it possible that there is something in the area that is killing the dect signal (i.e. lots of metal, any thing that is broadcasting like wireless microphones, microwaves that are in use. Wifi access points that are nearby.)

Do they both work if you move the second antenna to a completely different location in the building?


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue
MichaelV #631072 07/11/19 08:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,536
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,536
Likes: 1
agree

Along the same lines I installed a Panasonic system that a few wireless sets kept losing registration. According to Panasonic I needed to replace the unit. Well this happened to three out of four units over the period of a year...ended up replacing the main unit and that fixed the problem. This was not the kx-ns700 and it was about 20 years ago...so...



Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue
Daniel #631076 07/11/19 09:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Thanks for the replies guys.

Originally Posted by Daniel
If it is the only one on the system does it work?

Part of the reason to default the system twice was to initialize the system on only one antenna each in that problem
location and see if I could register the handsets with it and I could not. As soon as I moved either antenna to the other spot(which is also a bar island in the front part of the restaurant) I could then register. I do seem to think that I have tried it by itself and then it would never work, even though the light is steady green and port shows CS in software.

Is it possible that there is something in the area that is killing the dect signal (i.e. lots of metal, any thing that is broadcasting like wireless microphones, microwaves that are in use. Wifi access points that are nearby.)

There are a couple of Point of Sale machines nearby, and I believe they may be wireless capable. I did do a wifi signal check with my phone and could see a really strong signal from an AT&T system of some sort, but don't know where it is coming from.

Do they both work if you move the second antenna to a completely different location in the building?

I did try moving it back where the phone system is installed but same issues, intermittent.





Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
18 members (Noobed2336, JBean3329, justbill, DD782, brokeda, Yoda, hitechcomm, metelcom, Nickonicle, phonman123, newtecky, Joe Talbot, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, RATHER BE FISHING, Herk, jsb15, nfcphoneman), 118 guests, and 130 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,642
Members49,368
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie, 4teltech
49367 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 20
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Daniel 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners