Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#631066 - 07/11/19 04:20 PM NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 393
MichaelV Offline
Member
MichaelV  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 393
San Diego, CA.
I've installed a brand new NS700G in a restaurant, analog trunks, 2 - DT543 phones, 2 - WT125 dect handsets, 2 - 0155 dect antennas. I'm having an issue with one antenna location(its located on the center island of a back bar area), where the phones frequently fail to connect to that antenna whether making or receiving calls. I've spoken with Panasonic support and verified all software versions. I also did the CS master delete and reregistration procedure from support, didn't help. I've swapped antennas, swapped ports they are on. I've tested the cable(passed a Cat5e test, its about 150ft run), I've defaulted the system twice trying to initialize the system on each of the two antennas with each being the master. A phone works fine on that cable and port. The two antennas are about 75ft apart. I've never ever run into an issue with these antennas, and I've probably put in 150 of them over the years(not many on the NS700 though), always seem to work no matter where they are placed.

Pulling my hair out on this, starting to think maybe there is some interference from something, but don't know what or even how to test for it. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#631068 - 07/11/19 06:40 PM Re: NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue [Re: MichaelV]  
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 185
Daniel Offline
Member
Daniel  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 185
St Louis, MO
If it is the only one on the system does it work?


Is it possible that there is something in the area that is killing the dect signal (i.e. lots of metal, any thing that is broadcasting like wireless microphones, microwaves that are in use. Wifi access points that are nearby.)

Do they both work if you move the second antenna to a completely different location in the building?


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
#631072 - 07/11/19 08:47 PM Re: NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue [Re: MichaelV]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Canby, Oregon
agree

Along the same lines I installed a Panasonic system that a few wireless sets kept losing registration. According to Panasonic I needed to replace the unit. Well this happened to three out of four units over the period of a year...ended up replacing the main unit and that fixed the problem. This was not the kx-ns700 and it was about 20 years ago...so...


Dean
Photographs: https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
#631076 - 07/11/19 09:28 PM Re: NS700 dect 6.0 antenna issue [Re: Daniel]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 393
MichaelV Offline
Member
MichaelV  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 393
San Diego, CA.
Thanks for the replies guys.

Originally Posted by Daniel
If it is the only one on the system does it work?

Part of the reason to default the system twice was to initialize the system on only one antenna each in that problem
location and see if I could register the handsets with it and I could not. As soon as I moved either antenna to the other spot(which is also a bar island in the front part of the restaurant) I could then register. I do seem to think that I have tried it by itself and then it would never work, even though the light is steady green and port shows CS in software.

Is it possible that there is something in the area that is killing the dect signal (i.e. lots of metal, any thing that is broadcasting like wireless microphones, microwaves that are in use. Wifi access points that are nearby.)

There are a couple of Point of Sale machines nearby, and I believe they may be wireless capable. I did do a wifi signal check with my phone and could see a really strong signal from an AT&T system of some sort, but don't know where it is coming from.

Do they both work if you move the second antenna to a completely different location in the building?

I did try moving it back where the phone system is installed but same issues, intermittent.


Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
Most Recent 5 Post
Panasonic VB-43050
by paphoneinstaller. 07/21/19 01:21 PM
Toshiba CTX CO jack
by Jared R. 07/21/19 02:29 AM
NEC 9100 PRI
by Ray01. 07/21/19 02:03 AM
Retired
by draynor. 07/20/19 10:44 AM
TDA 50 and TVA200 Quick Setup
by cctech. 07/20/19 08:48 AM
Who's Online Now
22 registered members (Yoda, justbill, morephones, paphoneinstaller, Professor Shadow, Jared R, JBean3329, nfcphoneman, BobRobert, metelcom, EV607797, usedphones, dexman, nortelvoip, Coral Tech, jeffmoss26, RATHER BE FISHING, hbiss, Ray01, Will H, ChrisRR, Bob3470), 256 guests, and 829 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
gauda1, Gregco Supply In, g6270r, dabcom, carjean
49071 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,654
Posts630,305
Members49,071
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Bill Hankins, dambo, Hexeon, TeleDude, vols_spe
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 31
C5Z 12
Daniel 11
hbiss 10
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap