Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#631018 - 07/09/19 03:32 PM 1A2 KSU ringer question  
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Pat Broome Offline
Member
Pat Broome  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Wayne
I'm sure this has been covered, but I couldn't find the answer anywhere. Have a WE 551A ksu. I have 3 phone lines, currently 1 phone hooked up. Looking to have all 3 lines when called directly to ring or external buzzer. I understand I'd need the frequency generator to have all lines ring at the handsets. But can I get all lines to go to an external buzzer? I learned the 551 did not come with the 118a FG. This originally had just one line in use, where the yellow/slate pair was on the tip/ring. My question, I have a Bell System yard buzzer from our larger wall system that I'd like to have buzz for all incoming lines. Is this possible with this ksu? I've read several pages on this and so far my wiring combinations have been unsuccessful. I'm transferring from a larger 8 card wall unit to the 551 due to the larger unit acting up in hot weather, and dampness. Any help is MUCH appreciated!

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#631026 - 07/09/19 09:04 PM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Pat Broome]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,818
EV607797 Online content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
EV607797  Online Content

Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,818
Fayetteville, NC
If you really have a "Yard buzzer", as in one of those big gray ones made by Wheelock, those respond to normal ring voltage (you'll need to confirm this on the name plate). You'd still need a frequency (ring) generator to run this connected to terminals RG and RB in the KSU. The buzzer would connect to any of the B1/R1 outputs. Strap the first three CA terminals together with a single wire for all three lines to ring the buzzer.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#631028 - 07/09/19 09:27 PM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: EV607797]  
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Pat Broome Offline
Member
Pat Broome  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Wayne
Yes, the old grey buzzer, stamped Bell System on front, very very loud. It's responding to ring voltage fine. So it's safe to say that I must have a frequency generator to make 2 or more lines ring independently or piggy back with a buzzer too? I guess I'm not comprehending how this system that didn't come with the 118A FG is supposed to work with multiple phones/lines.

#631039 - 07/10/19 01:41 PM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Pat Broome]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,661
Silversam Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
Silversam  Offline

Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,661
NYC
You could also use one of the 10V or 18V buzzers. Wire RB, RG to the appropriate (10 or 18) voltage and hook up the buzzers to the Y/S.

I worked for GTE for a while and while they didn't have a 551 type KSU their practice 0n the West Coast (NOT on the East Coast!) was to have the incoming lines be signaled by buzzer, not by a ringer. I'm not sure why, but...

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
#631052 - 07/10/19 09:18 PM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Silversam]  
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Pat Broome Offline
Member
Pat Broome  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Wayne
Thanks Ed, I wasn't even thinking that the yard buzzer was higher voltage. I was thinking more like a piezo buzzer until I can find the appropriate Freq Generator. Sam, I ran the jumpers from G+/- and S+/- to RG & RB respectively, and have voltage there. I still have no voltage at the Y/S pair, or at B1/R1. Not sure what I'm missing. Thnx.

#631054 - 07/10/19 10:22 PM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Pat Broome]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,661
Silversam Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
Silversam  Offline

Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,661
NYC
Well, you won't have voltage at B1 R1 till the call rings in. Then to get the phone to ring you connect Y/S (or Y/O, or Y/G, or whatever pair you have connected to your signaling device) to B1R1.


Sam

Last edited by Silversam; 07/10/19 10:23 PM.

"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
#631083 - 07/12/19 12:40 AM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Silversam]  
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Pat Broome Offline
Member
Pat Broome  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Wayne
I'm testing the B1/R1 terminals while I have the phone ringing, and still no voltage coming through.

#631084 - 07/12/19 03:22 AM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Pat Broome]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,661
Silversam Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
Silversam  Offline

Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,661
NYC
OK. Here's the BSP for the 551:

http://wedophones.com/TheBellSystem/pdf/bsp/550and551/518-215-407.pdf

See page 9

If you've put Ringing power on RG/RB, then when the call rings in you should have ringing voltage on B1/R1.

If you don't...

Check to see if you have ringing voltage coming in on the appropriate T/R. If you don't then the CO is not sending Ringing Voltage (or perhaps not enough). If there's enough voltage then there are two places to troubleshoot - the Line card or the interruptor.

Check this and get back to us.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
#631085 - 07/12/19 04:00 AM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Pat Broome]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Canby, Oregon
I always checked for ringing voltage by licking one finger and dragging it across the pins on the 66 block to locate the correct pair.


Dean
Photographs: https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
#631086 - 07/12/19 07:46 AM Re: 1A2 KSU ringer question [Re: Pat Broome]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,818
EV607797 Online content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
EV607797  Online Content

Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,818
Fayetteville, NC
There are strapping options on the line cards via the handle on the card. Are they in place? There's rarely any reason to change them, but since what you're telling us doesn't sound right, I had to ask.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
Most Recent 5 Post
Panasonic VB-43050
by paphoneinstaller. 07/21/19 01:21 PM
Toshiba CTX CO jack
by Jared R. 07/21/19 02:29 AM
NEC 9100 PRI
by Ray01. 07/21/19 02:03 AM
Retired
by draynor. 07/20/19 10:44 AM
TDA 50 and TVA200 Quick Setup
by cctech. 07/20/19 08:48 AM
Who's Online Now
22 registered members (Yoda, justbill, morephones, paphoneinstaller, Professor Shadow, Jared R, JBean3329, nfcphoneman, BobRobert, metelcom, EV607797, usedphones, dexman, nortelvoip, Coral Tech, jeffmoss26, RATHER BE FISHING, hbiss, Ray01, Will H, ChrisRR, Bob3470), 256 guests, and 829 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
gauda1, Gregco Supply In, g6270r, dabcom, carjean
49071 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,654
Posts630,305
Members49,071
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Bill Hankins, dambo, Hexeon, TeleDude, vols_spe
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 31
C5Z 12
Daniel 11
hbiss 10
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap