EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#631305 07/22/19 02:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
I have a couple of remote IP phones connected to a 9100. After initial heartache during setup, they are working fine. The IT guy has the port forwarding, etc. setup and it has been working for quite a while now.

IT guy has recently been looking at some other phone things for himself and came across a mention of a VPN direct from phone to 9100. I've noticed VPN options in the phone while setting up the remote connections, but left them alone. Now I'm wondering if there might be a better way than what we've been doing. I found the InVPN install guide on NTAC. It mentions the IP6-L adapter for the phone, but I can't find it anywhere to buy. The software has to be installed on the GCD-SRVR2 blade. Will it work if the GCD server is a stand-alone server? Is this VPN from phone to system the way to do it?

Thanks.
Jim

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,978
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,978
VPN software is built into the latest firmware for the phone. The module is no longer needed. VPN is more secure but it has a lot of overhead and can affect call quality. Pretty sure you just need to get the key and config the VPN on the phone to the VPN router. No muss no fuss.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
Do you have to load VPN software onto the GCD server?

Is anyone running it this way? Or is it just not done?

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,978
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,978
NEC VPN/router server I don't think is even offered anymore. I have taken them out because they cause issues. The VPN software is on the phone all you need is a VPN router of some flavor to make it work. I never use it because the remote phones are pretty secure, But ya grab a phone and a VPN router (that supports the VPN on the phone, should be most newer) and setup in your lab.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
I won't stress about it then. As long as it's working as is, I'll leave it as is.
But will try out the phone vpn by itself when I get time.

Thanks Coral Tech.
Jim


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,466
Posts640,074
Members49,483
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Barry L. Burns, Derrick, jadekitty, jimwhitend, nicholasndi, Rich W., steve123456789
Newest Members
Matt L, Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave
49,482 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 38
Ruben 7
OBT 5
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
14 members (mohammed abdelaa, dexman, hitechcomm, justbill, MooreTel, Touch Tone Tommy, RATHER BE FISHING, jeffmoss26, Mercenary Roadie, BrianS, Matt L, Silversam, metelcom, Yoda), 174 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud