Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Compact ICS bad line port
#631380 07/25/19 05:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 63
dtel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 63
I am in a remote area of Montana and have been asked to troubleshoot a Norstar Compact ICS V4.0 at a grain elevator. They have 3 extensions and 2 loop start lines. Line 2 has gone dead at the phones but is good going into the system. I wired tip and ring to another single line phone, but can not get dial tone unless I pull the T&R from the system feed cable. I have been installing Panasonic and Avaya systems for over 30 years, but this is the first Nortel product that I have encountered in this area. IF the system is able to handle 4 CO's, I would expect that I could enable the 3rd CO port and program that Line appearance at each of the 3 extension and enable ringing on that line port at each extension.
I downloaded the manual and am smart enough to not waste my time learning a system that I am unlikely to encounter again. There isn't a Nortel tech within several hundred miles of this business and I am not the kind of guy that says that they NEED to buy a new system to get such a small operation working on two lines again.
Looking for help and willing to pay.
thanks,

Equipment and Telephones
Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631383 07/25/19 09:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Offline
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
What happens when you read the resistance on pairs 2,5 and 6 on the block? It seems unlikely that all 3 pairs are shorted. You might look to a mechanical failure (tail, bad bridge clip, water, corrosion, etc.) on pair 2.

Carl


There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631384 07/25/19 10:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,024
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Content
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,024
Likes: 1
If you have the manual I would move the CO line to CO port 3 and reprogram 1 extension for the line 3 to ring and appear. If it works you could program the remainder of the sets.


[Linked Image]
Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631389 07/26/19 12:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,073
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,073
Do what "Rather be Fishing" told you.
Keep in mind that On the cable - you have Pairs 1 & 2 are Lines 1 & 2.
Then you have 2 Blank pairs. Then pairs 5 & 6 are lines 3 & 4.

If that works - You can program the phone that showed Line 1 and then 2 to show line 1 and then 3 .
The customer will still think he has 2 lines in the same spot.

To do that - Remove line 2 from the phones and then Add line 3. That will put line 3 right below line 1.



If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631390 07/26/19 12:35 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,275
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,275
Done that many times to get things going.

You can rename the 3rd co port to "Line 2" if you want, but that's the last of your worries. Hopefully the password is known or default so you can get in. If you're new to nortel, use the programming overlay in the manual to help with the keys to use while programming.

Jim

Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631399 07/26/19 03:39 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,593
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,593
And finally in case you do not want to do all the above you could just order another line card, power down, replace, power up.


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631400 07/26/19 05:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 382
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 382
And hope it doesn't default.....


BTS
Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631402 07/26/19 07:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,593
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,593
Not to scare the client but chances of defaulting at this time are pretty rare.

Also check the SP version as this will see if it has the IRAD enabled which would allow a vendor to dial in to make changes and do a backup of programming.


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631455 07/29/19 07:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 63
dtel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 63
The customer has powered the system down, for about 20 seconds, and restarted without "apparently" loosing any programming. I'm always concerned about what hits the fan after I get involved with a new customer and and unfamiliar system. If the card replacement is straight forward, I would probably recommend that. It seems like one port failure often leads to another.. Where is the card located, as I have had trouble getting the front cover off of the ksu.

Re: Compact ICS bad line port
dtel #631457 07/29/19 08:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 382
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 382
Yes, the cover can be tricky. A small screwdriver will help. Probably an LS/DS card. Get cover off, power down and swap them out.

Last edited by BTS01; 07/29/19 08:22 PM.

BTS
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff, Z-man 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
22 members (Yoda, hitechcomm, metelcom, Nickonicle, phonman123, newtecky, justbill, Joe Talbot, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, RATHER BE FISHING, Herk, jsb15, nfcphoneman, nortelvoip, Edward_, buttercool, BobRobert, hbiss, Curlycord, brokeda, dexman), 119 guests, and 130 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,641
Members49,368
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie, 4teltech
49367 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 20
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Daniel 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners