web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#631380 07/25/19 01:28 PM
dtel Offline OP
OP Offline
I am in a remote area of Montana and have been asked to troubleshoot a Norstar Compact ICS V4.0 at a grain elevator. They have 3 extensions and 2 loop start lines. Line 2 has gone dead at the phones but is good going into the system. I wired tip and ring to another single line phone, but can not get dial tone unless I pull the T&R from the system feed cable. I have been installing Panasonic and Avaya systems for over 30 years, but this is the first Nortel product that I have encountered in this area. IF the system is able to handle 4 CO's, I would expect that I could enable the 3rd CO port and program that Line appearance at each of the 3 extension and enable ringing on that line port at each extension.
I downloaded the manual and am smart enough to not waste my time learning a system that I am unlikely to encounter again. There isn't a Nortel tech within several hundred miles of this business and I am not the kind of guy that says that they NEED to buy a new system to get such a small operation working on two lines again.
Looking for help and willing to pay.
thanks,

Nortel Phone System Service
VoIP Demo

Nortel Phone System Service in Canada

Do you need a Nortel Phone System technician or specific Nortel parts?
Atcom to the rescue! Our telephone techs have qualified experience servicing and troubleshooting Nortel CICS, MICS, & BCM telephone systems.
Service in Canada from sea to sea.

Admin
Admin
What happens when you read the resistance on pairs 2,5 and 6 on the block? It seems unlikely that all 3 pairs are shorted. You might look to a mechanical failure (tail, bad bridge clip, water, corrosion, etc.) on pair 2.

Carl

Admin
Admin