Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
#631461 07/29/19 11:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
I'm new to the phone system so I apologize if I sound dumb or don't know the correct lingo. I'll do the best I can parroting what I picked up from my phone guy and AT&T.

I need my outbound Caller ID (CNAM) to say our company's name. Is this possible over the IP Flex Circuits that support our PRI cards? I have a Toshiba CIX670 that supports three Centrex Cards, a card for VOIP phones, VM cards and two PRI cards. The PRI cards were added recently and replaced two LDT1 cards. We have plans to upgrade the IP Flex circuits to fiber shortly.

After the last election cycle, I thought this would be a simple request when I approached my Toshiba Tech. Apparently, I was wrong! It's been six months of finger pointing, excuses and abusing my liver. AT&T assures me that all of out lines coming in are tagged with the company name and says our phone system must be stripping it off the outbound calls. Our Toshiba Tech assures me that everything is programmed correctly in the phone system and insists that AT&T has done something wrong. However, our Toshiba Tech only recently identified that we need to upgrade three cards in our phone system to get the Caller ID to work on the Centrex Lines. Even with this revelation he is adamant that AT&T is still why it doesn't work on the PR Cards.

If it is possible, what questions can I ask or information can I provide to the Toshiba Tech the will get us to the promised land?

If it is not possible, can someone recommend anything (third-party software or hardware add-on) that will get our company name to show up on people Caller ID?

Me and my liver thank you for any guidance you can provide.


thanks in advance
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631466 07/30/19 03:26 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 90
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 90
It's been a while since I worked on a CIX but I can tell you from experience, it's AT&Ts problem. AT&T controls all outbound CNAM. The OLGs in the CIX have the ability to outpulse the DID you want to show up when you call a number from an extension but the CNAM for that DID is handled by the carrier, in your case AT&T. Out of curiosity what does the caller ID say when you call an outside number? Does it say your main phone number but the name of your town instead of your company name? Or does it show something like unavailable?

The CIX is a really solid system.

-Daniel

Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631470 07/30/19 03:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,567
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,567
I get this question a lot. On the CIX their is a field that was added to out-pulse a name, but this isn't used in the US, In the US the receiving carrier will change the phone number with a CNAM database when the call comes to them.

Basically on a PRI the CIX can send out the DID (if the carrier allows) but the names are added by the carrier. If AT&T are blaming the PBX (pretty typical for carriers now days) then that person is incorrect. AT&T needs to make this change to the database.

Just googling around:
https://www.sotelips.net/support/index.php?/Knowledgebase/Article/View/78/24/how-cnam-works
** Although their statement "Generally, the caller-ID number is almost never wrong" doesn't account for caller ID spoofing.

https://blog.flowroute.com/2015/12/02/what-is-cnam-and-how-can-it-work-for-your-business/

https://www.opencnam.com/faq/cnam-basics/115002638454-Where-does-CNAM-data-come-from-
"Where does CNAM data come from?
CNAM data is supplied by the telephone carrier who owns the telephone number and is populated in the authoritative repository that the carrier selects to store its CNAM values. "

https://www.opencnam.com/faq/cnam-b...e-that-is-displayed-when-I-call-someone-
"How do I change the name that is displayed when I call someone?
Official CNAM values can only be changed by your telephone service provider or carrier."

https://support.sip.us/hc/en-us/articles/360015059391-What-is-CNAM-

Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
newtecky #631472 07/30/19 05:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
This has been very educational! The number that is broadcast is our 800 number. Our 800 number is owned by our long distance provider which is different from AT&T. So my issue is not with AT&T or my CIX670! Those are doing everything they are supposed to do! To get them to do what I need them to do, I have two options: Have the CIX670 broadcast the DID numbers associated with the IP Flex circuits or have our long distance provider update the CNAM databases with our company name! Hope it is just that easy!

Thank you both for pointing me in the right direction and expanding my knowledge on this subject. I will keep you updated on this little project!



thanks in advance
Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631499 07/31/19 06:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
So, it still doesn't work! I had our phone guy change the number in the phone system. First, he changed set it up to show whichever number was randomly grabbed from our IP Flex circuit. Called several people and found everyone received the same number from our block of numbers, no company name. He then changed it to be a set number, we used our main local number that is associated with our AT&T account. Made several more test calls. Everyone received that number and no company name.

AT&T still insists that it is our issues and want to set up a Vendor Meet, at my expense. smile

Several years ago, we had a Toshiba DK something or other. We upgraded to the CIX670. Prior to the upgrade, I remember our company name used to pop up on my Caller ID at home. So, I know this can work.

Are there any other settings or anything we could try before scheduling a Vendor Meet?

Thinking of changing my member name to at&t hater!


thanks in advance
Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631508 07/31/19 10:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 90
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 90
If you are in the US there is nothing you can change on your end/in the PBX. The issue is with AT&T, which is not surprising, but they are definitely giving you the run around. Did you just change from a regular PRI to IP Flex?

Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631519 08/01/19 01:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
No. We have always been IP Flex.


thanks in advance
Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631579 08/04/19 12:41 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,567
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,567
Originally Posted by cix670 hater

Thinking of changing my member name to at&t hater!


I would think that this name may already be taken. I think every phone tech has heard the words, "Everything looks good on our side. It could be a problem with the PBX".

if the PBX is correctly passing the phone number to the carrier, then I don't see anything else the Toshiba PBX could be doing.


Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631607 08/06/19 05:50 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Have your tech look at the D-Channel when making an outbound call and it will show you exactly what the CIX is sending towards the carrier (AT&T). If pbx has number and or name programmed, you will see that in the D-Channel.

Re: CIX670 - Outbound Caller ID on IP Flex Circuit
cix670 hater #631617 08/07/19 12:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 917
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 917
You need to produce an ISDN PRI trace output to identify what the CIX is sending to AT&T.

This is not supported over here at all on PRI with the CIX system.


Regards
Carl

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
22 members (Curlycord, Professor Shadow, hbiss, peice, pvj, Noobed2336, JBean3329, justbill, DD782, brokeda, Yoda, hitechcomm, metelcom, Nickonicle, phonman123, newtecky, Joe Talbot, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, RATHER BE FISHING, Herk, jsb15), 125 guests, and 127 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,644
Members49,368
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
Nickonicle, chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie
49368 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 20
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Daniel 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners