Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Hi Guys,

I'm looking for a intercom unit the provides dial dial tone when you pick up the line. This intercom unit would go in to a 501 KSU to replace my teltone c19. I know that Valcom made a V-110RT that had a dial tone but not sure what other models that had the feature. Would the Valcom V-119RT or a Melco KC-19 have dial tone?




Thanks..

Last edited by morephones; 08/22/19 01:45 AM.
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Valcom V-119RT yes it has dial tone. VT0119TR Instructions
I believe the Melco KC-19 had dial tone also but I cannot verify my memory.

UPDATE: KC-19 Install

Last edited by Professor Shadow; 08/22/19 03:24 AM.

Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Only Valcom. All others were dry talk path only. Tone Commander offered it as an option on their ML-8000 series multi-link intercoms, but that's an entirely different league of intercoms and likely much less commonplace in the aftermarket.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 85
Likes: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 85
Likes: 5
I'd probably do a double take if I picked up an intercom line and got dialtone; I'd think I somehow got an outside line.

Looking at the Valcom V-119RT docs, apparently it had dial tone /and/ a ringback tone to indicate the remote station is being signaled.
Quoting its docs:

Quote
4.01 To make an intercom call, go off-hook, dial tone will be heard.
Dial the number of the desired zone or station.
Dial tone will be broken after the first number is dialed.
A one second ringback tone will indicate that the called station is being signaled.

I remember being surprised the 'sox' command on my linux machine could generate perfect telco sounds as .wav files,
including dial tone and busy signal sounds. For instance, these generate small .wav files for sounds we're used to in the US:

Dial tone:
sox -n dialtone.wav synth 1.0 sine 350 sine 440 channels 1

Busy signal:
sox -n busy-signal.wav synth .5 sine 480 sine 620 channels 1

Similar commands can be used to generate all the DTMF keypad sounds as well..

Last edited by Greg Ercolano; 08/22/19 05:39 AM.
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Fair Radio Sales lists new military surplus Valcom V-119RT units for $85.00.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 85
Likes: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 85
Likes: 5
..there also seems to be a Valcom 119RT 'as is' on ebay right now for ten bucks

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
As I recall (never always accurately, BTW), the dial tone on intercoms was NOT Telco standard DT. Nor was it that high pitched European or Japanese standard. it was....different, lower in volume. I seem to remember being told that, that was deliberate - so as not to confuse people.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Thanks guys for all the help.

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 657
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 657
I have the valcom unit and it's just a single frequency tone for DT. Then it makes a short beep indicating signalling. Nothing fancy, but it let you know it was still alive.

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Yep I meant to say "single frequency tone" not real dial tone from a POTs line lol.

I have a V-110RT but no way to attach it to the 501 KSU so I was thinking like a Valcom V-119RT. going to have to see if the wiring is the same or if I have to make any changes to the punch down block as I have a teltone
currently.



Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,788
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 182 guests, and 85 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5