Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 134
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 134
Hi Guys,

I'm looking for a intercom unit the provides dial dial tone when you pick up the line. This intercom unit would go in to a 501 KSU to replace my teltone c19. I know that Valcom made a V-110RT that had a dial tone but not sure what other models that had the feature. Would the Valcom V-119RT or a Melco KC-19 have dial tone?




Thanks..

Last edited by morephones; 08/22/19 01:45 AM.
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,613
Likes: 2
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,613
Likes: 2
Valcom V-119RT yes it has dial tone. VT0119TR Instructions
I believe the Melco KC-19 had dial tone also but I cannot verify my memory.

UPDATE: KC-19 Install

Last edited by Professor Shadow; 08/22/19 03:24 AM.

Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,281
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,281
Likes: 3
Only Valcom. All others were dry talk path only. Tone Commander offered it as an option on their ML-8000 series multi-link intercoms, but that's an entirely different league of intercoms and likely much less commonplace in the aftermarket.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 69
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 69
I'd probably do a double take if I picked up an intercom line and got dialtone; I'd think I somehow got an outside line.

Looking at the Valcom V-119RT docs, apparently it had dial tone /and/ a ringback tone to indicate the remote station is being signaled.
Quoting its docs:

Quote
4.01 To make an intercom call, go off-hook, dial tone will be heard.
Dial the number of the desired zone or station.
Dial tone will be broken after the first number is dialed.
A one second ringback tone will indicate that the called station is being signaled.

I remember being surprised the 'sox' command on my linux machine could generate perfect telco sounds as .wav files,
including dial tone and busy signal sounds. For instance, these generate small .wav files for sounds we're used to in the US:

Dial tone:
sox -n dialtone.wav synth 1.0 sine 350 sine 440 channels 1

Busy signal:
sox -n busy-signal.wav synth .5 sine 480 sine 620 channels 1

Similar commands can be used to generate all the DTMF keypad sounds as well..

Last edited by Greg Ercolano; 08/22/19 05:39 AM.
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Fair Radio Sales lists new military surplus Valcom V-119RT units for $85.00.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 69
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 69
..there also seems to be a Valcom 119RT 'as is' on ebay right now for ten bucks

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,993
Likes: 1
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,993
Likes: 1
As I recall (never always accurately, BTW), the dial tone on intercoms was NOT Telco standard DT. Nor was it that high pitched European or Japanese standard. it was....different, lower in volume. I seem to remember being told that, that was deliberate - so as not to confuse people.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 134
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 134
Thanks guys for all the help.

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 647
Moderator-1A2
***
Online Content
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 647
I have the valcom unit and it's just a single frequency tone for DT. Then it makes a short beep indicating signalling. Nothing fancy, but it let you know it was still alive.

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 134
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 134
Yep I meant to say "single frequency tone" not real dial tone from a POTs line lol.

I have a V-110RT but no way to attach it to the 501 KSU so I was thinking like a Valcom V-119RT. going to have to see if the wiring is the same or if I have to make any changes to the punch down block as I have a teltone
currently.



Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
Summit 800 (9224 Phones) Solid Hold Light
by Keith Janssen - 01/25/21 09:42 PM
Outgoing ANI
by Andyreed - 01/24/21 02:52 PM
Fiber Equipment Installation
by dexman - 01/22/21 11:10 PM
8300 with UCB voicemail to email issue
by Rob Jordan - 01/22/21 06:45 PM
Power unit/interrupter issues
by Telephonemaven - 01/22/21 01:44 AM
Who's Online Now
29 members (nortelvoip, Curlycord, Avidcomm, Yoda, jkmartin, sketchypro, Ruben, BobRobert, Bushmills, Professor Shadow, www.telcom1.net, Touch Tone Tommy, hlwilliams, Meyery2k, iatech3800, vicbob, justbill, barnito, bttirc, dexman, nfcphoneman, Hofman telekom, metelcom, Skunky, MooreTel, EV607797, Not_sirius, Mercenary Roadie, ChrisRR), 583 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,196
Posts638,627
Members49,403
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
dcttech, George/wa2vnv, telesalesrep
Newest Members
AleGor, Schreiber, RotoTech99, corkie, FixYaBrokeStuff
49,402 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 33
Yoda 19
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners