Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#632122 08/23/19 04:31 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Hi,


What would be the best way to add music on hold to a 501 KSU and I do not care about cross talk. I do have the ITT 400E line cards and I tasted MOH on line 1 with pins 3 and 18 and it seems to work, But how would I connect them to all 4 lines??? I'm thinking about soldering some wire to the pins of each card and then daisy chain them at the music source.. I do not know any other why to make the wire stay on the pin...... Or just cut the wire at the pin and do a UR Wire Connector.


Any thoughts on this? Like I said I do not care of the issues of cross talk at all as the system is in my hold and I never put more then one person on hold.

Thanks Brian

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
You want to use a wire wrapping tool to attach the wires to the pins.

I'm trying to remember, I'm going to have to check the prints when I can....

On a 501 KSU are pins 3 &18 brought down to the punch block so you could strap AB & AG to them (for use with 415 & 401 cards)? If so, then all you have to do is punch down the music source there.

It's been a long time and my memoriy is not what it used to be. I'll have to check.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Hi Sam,

Would you strap the AB & AG from the power supply too? I know the manual intercom will not work in the other slots only the last one....

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
I hooked up two lines and you get music on line one with out putting it on hold.. So I guess you do need a MOH card for everything to work right.... MOH on hold on only line is okay with me....


Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
What are you using for a MOH source?

One of these?
or perhaps following this?

Last edited by Professor Shadow; 08/24/19 03:43 PM.

Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
I just took a old boombox and connected it to pins 3 and 18 back if the card slot.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
That's fine for just one line. You have to be extra careful to ensure that these pins aren't wired for AB and AG (-24VDC talk battery). If you want to provide music on hold easily (without the MOH card), you can use San/Bar's SB4200 series line cards if you can find them. They have isolated MOH inputs so you can just parallel connect your music source to pins 3/18 of each slot.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
What Ed said. As always, he's on the $.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Thanks Guys,

If I want to add music to the other lines with out a MOH card, I would just make sure that pins 3 and 18 are not connected to AB and AG? I dont think they are as manual intercom cards and tie line cards would not work in the slots.

I notice while connecting two lines together on pins 3 and 18 I had music on the line with out putting it on hold so it sounds like you must have something line the San/Bar's SB4200 if you want music on hold on multiple lines.

Thanks

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
SB4201A

The music is transmitted from the SB4201A to the SB4200A line cards on pins 3 and 18
via common straps in the KSU. One SB4201A is normally sufficient to provide a music
source for an entire key system.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,789
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 69 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5