Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#632216 - 08/26/19 03:48 AM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Southernphoneman]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,071
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,071
Canby, Oregon
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 minutes. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.

Last edited by Professor Shadow; 08/26/19 11:07 PM. Reason: correct timing error

Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Google Telephone Equipment Search
#632235 - 08/26/19 09:19 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: ffej010]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,341
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,341
Arlington, Massachusetts
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.


The OP noted that the POTS line was disconnected and the only services are DSL & VoIP. The UPS is to extend uptime during a power outage. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#632236 - 08/26/19 09:20 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: ffej010]  
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
Southernphoneman Offline
Member
Southernphoneman  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
merritt,nc usa
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.

Thank you and Hi, the phone part of the equasion is why I would be looking for the back up as I have done away with the POTS and now have VoIP so it would end up being back up for the phones them selves until the power came back on thank you for your response.

#632237 - 08/26/19 09:25 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Professor Shadow]  
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
Southernphoneman Offline
Member
Southernphoneman  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
merritt,nc usa
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.

Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 08/26/19 09:26 PM.
#632239 - 08/26/19 09:55 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Professor Shadow]  
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 456
Mercenary Roadie Offline
Member
Mercenary Roadie  Offline

Member

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 456
Santa Paula, CA
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.



Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
#632241 - 08/26/19 11:08 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Mercenary Roadie]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,071
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,071
Canby, Oregon
Originally Posted by Mercenary Roadie
Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes

Yeah...that's what I said 7.5 minutes...after correcting my error. Thank you Sir.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
#632243 - 08/26/19 11:22 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Southernphoneman]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,071
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,071
Canby, Oregon
Originally Posted by Southernphoneman

Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help


Only two devices...your Obihai 200 and your Modem. Unless your 2500 set plugs into the wall for AC, it does not consume power.

You state: "I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage." Exactly how long do you plan on having your power out? Two hours...two days...two weeks? As far as I know it's almost impossible to tell how long the power is going to be out. It would be great though, I'd plan on going to Hawaii or something. 👍


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
#632443 - 09/02/19 04:53 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Southernphoneman]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 400
mbhydro Online content
Member
mbhydro  Online Content
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 400
Manitoba Canada
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.

#632466 - 09/03/19 02:26 PM Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: mbhydro]  
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 647
hawk82 Offline
Member
hawk82  Offline

Member

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 647
Central Maine
Originally Posted by mbhydro
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.

Truth. Spectrum in my part of the state has absolutely ZERO batteries in their gray powersupply enclosures on the utility poles. Only way you might have service in a power outage is if you live right near the cableco hub (typical concrete cellphone style building). The line amps for those trunks are inside the hub which has generator power. But as you get further down the road, they don't have enough power to service.

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  dexman 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
Most Recent 5 Post
7100 Power Supply Repair?
by RM SYSTEMS. 09/18/19 12:04 PM
Polycom IP 7000 Soundstation
by SamsungCat. 09/17/19 01:30 PM
Valcom Class connect
by teldata1. 09/17/19 12:30 AM
Panasonic KX-TA824 Discontinuation
by DonaldR. 09/16/19 10:21 PM
OS 7200 External Forward Timeout Problem
by nlodoen. 09/16/19 06:12 PM
Who's Online Now
34 registered members (dexman, Professor Shadow, BTS01, JBean3329, hbiss, jab1780, dude, jknichols, pdxjim911, oobie, Touch Tone Tommy, pvj, RM SYSTEMS, usedphones, DND ON, BtekFool, vicbob, nonameyet, mbhydro, newtecky, erniejoey, KRRath, justbill, TelephoneSystemsDirect, gelehu, nlodoen, teldata1, MooreTel, nfcphoneman, BobRobert, metelcom, DonaldR, morephones, Bob3470), 1,770 guests, and 723 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
Russ Micheli, Rob Lindstrom, Cristina Castill, It's Me, BOC
49127 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,835
Posts631,822
Members49,126
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
azrael4854, Jig, Shell
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 94
C5Z 42
hbiss 18
ChrisRR 14
Daniel 13
50% OFF Most All Phones
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap