Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Southernphoneman] #632216 08/26/19 03:48 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,155
Professor Shadow Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,155
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 minutes. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.

Last edited by Professor Shadow; 08/26/19 11:07 PM. Reason: correct timing error

Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Telephone Equipment Search
Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: ffej010] #632235 08/26/19 09:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,400
dexman Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,400
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.


The OP noted that the POTS line was disconnected and the only services are DSL & VoIP. The UPS is to extend uptime during a power outage. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: ffej010] #632236 08/26/19 09:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 37
Southernphoneman Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 37
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.

Thank you and Hi, the phone part of the equasion is why I would be looking for the back up as I have done away with the POTS and now have VoIP so it would end up being back up for the phones them selves until the power came back on thank you for your response.

Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Professor Shadow] #632237 08/26/19 09:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 37
Southernphoneman Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 37
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.

Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 08/26/19 09:26 PM.
Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Professor Shadow] #632239 08/26/19 09:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 457
Mercenary Roadie Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 457
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.



Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Mercenary Roadie] #632241 08/26/19 11:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,155
Professor Shadow Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,155
Originally Posted by Mercenary Roadie
Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes

Yeah...that's what I said 7.5 minutes...after correcting my error. Thank you Sir.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Southernphoneman] #632243 08/26/19 11:22 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,155
Professor Shadow Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,155
Originally Posted by Southernphoneman

Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help


Only two devices...your Obihai 200 and your Modem. Unless your 2500 set plugs into the wall for AC, it does not consume power.

You state: "I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage." Exactly how long do you plan on having your power out? Two hours...two days...two weeks? As far as I know it's almost impossible to tell how long the power is going to be out. It would be great though, I'd plan on going to Hawaii or something. 👍


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: Southernphoneman] #632443 09/02/19 04:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 400
M
mbhydro Online Content
Member
Online Content
Member
M
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 400
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.

Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems [Re: mbhydro] #632466 09/03/19 02:26 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 650
H
hawk82 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
H
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 650
Originally Posted by mbhydro
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.

Truth. Spectrum in my part of the state has absolutely ZERO batteries in their gray powersupply enclosures on the utility poles. Only way you might have service in a power outage is if you live right near the cableco hub (typical concrete cellphone style building). The line amps for those trunks are inside the hub which has generator power. But as you get further down the road, they don't have enough power to service.

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  dexman 

ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Most Recent 5 Post
IP Office Basic /Standard Mode.
by Rickman - 11/15/19 02:30 PM
low volume on 302C console
by Bogaard - 11/14/19 09:07 PM
SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
by mreilly - 11/14/19 07:33 PM
NEC Aspire Voicemail issue
by jc7001 - 11/14/19 07:05 PM
IP office and remote IP phone
by High Mesa Communications - 11/13/19 12:26 AM
Who's Online Now
41 registered members (newtecky, Bob3470, Ruben, Touch Tone Tommy, mreilly, jknichols, BtekFool, seafort, dans, KRRath, BobRobert, geronimo, usedphones, Yoda, Rickman, mbhydro, hbiss, justbill, Professor Shadow, www.telcom1.net, Patryk D., BTS01, Paul@IPG, gelehu, jmdavis, nortelvoip, helpifican, JBean3329, R4+Z, vicbob, jab1780, MooreTel, erniejoey, metelcom, Skunky, Carl Navarro, hitechcomm, Carlos#1, RedBul, pvj, Arthur P. Bloom), 2,903 guests, and 687 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
geronimo, bmsjeff, Reese Jacobs, lizhou, BangorUni
49173 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics93,031
Posts632,799
Members49,173
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
3T, biprgriff, mandi, Socrates, TimH64
NEC DX-40 PKG $299
NEC DX-40 PKG $299
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 24
RedBul 15
POLYCOM SOUNDPOINT 10 Pack
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
50% OFF Most All Phones
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap