Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#633747 11/12/19 09:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 12
Will H Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 12
This sounds like a bit of a weird question, but is the LCD on the avaya or lucent MLS 12/18D phones backlit? I'm trying to put a phone in a location where a newer 18D Euro-type phone is slightly too wide to fit. The area is also kind of dimly lit, so a backlit screen is necessary.

Will

Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,289
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,289
According to the quick reference for 12-D, 18-D, and 34-D, only the 18-D mentions adjusting the brightness


(You can adjust the display contrast on
the MLS-18D; see “Volume Control Buttons” below.)


To adjust the display brightness on an MLS-18D phone, when the phone is idle and the handset is
on the phone: press [ ★ ]; then press ▼ to decrease brightness, or ▲ to increase brightness.

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 337
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 337
Likes: 1
Would a 6D euro style work there?


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 12
Will H Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 12
Just a little update, I decided to go with the MLS 18D and it does, in fact, have a backlight on its LCD. Thank you Touch Tone Tommy and Daniel for the information.

I'm not sure if I should create a new thread for this, but I'm fairly new to the Avaya Partner programming thing and I was wondering the following:

The system I have in place only has one outside line connected to it. Whenever that line rings and someone picks up via a system phone, I have found out that the other two system phones cannot directly 'join' that call, as picking them up just sends them to the intercom (A feature I have configured through automatic line selection). The single standard 2500 pushbutton phone which is only configured to access line one just gets a busy signal when trying to join that call.

So this begs the question: How do I get both the system phones and standard phone to be able to 'pick up' on a call already answered?

Thank you

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,291
Likes: 2
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,291
Likes: 2
Think of how you would join a call in progress if there were several lines in use at the same time. How would you tell the system which one you want?

On the system phone you obviously need to push the line button then pick up the handset. The line indicators for that line will flash alternately red and green on all extensions on that call to let everybody know that they are not the only ones in on that call. A total of three phones can join a call.

For a standard phone pick up the handset, get intercom dialtone then dial 68 and the two digit line number of the line you want to join. In your case it would be 6801 for line 01. Note that 01 is the line assigned to the line 1 jack on the system. This can get real confusing when lines are assigned to system phones in a different order than what they are connected to on the system. The first line button on a system phone could be any line so you can't always go by what button is lit.

I normally didn't recommend single line (standard) phones for other than making and receiving calls because, although the features are there, who is going to remember the codes to use them?

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 337
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 337
Likes: 1
Hal. We had a customer who printed an Avery label with common feature codes and affixed it to the back of the phone.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,291
Likes: 2
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,291
Likes: 2
Originally Posted by Daniel
Hal. We had a customer who printed an Avery label with common feature codes and affixed it to the back of the phone.

Yeah, but that would get old fast and then too, many in offices just don't have the "cognitive skills" to understand it anyway. This is why we sold a lot of Avaya cordlesses despite their high price tag. Some customers even had a hard time figuring those out.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,106
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,106
Sounds to me like a privacy setting, if you can't "join" a call..?


Trump 2020
Proud 1 star member.
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,291
Likes: 2
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,291
Likes: 2
Originally Posted by 1864
Sounds to me like a privacy setting, if you can't "join" a call..?

That's not what he's asking. He is thinking that you can just pick up a handset to join a call like you can on a bunch of single line phones on one line in a house.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
Summit 800 (9224 Phones) Solid Hold Light
by Keith Janssen - 01/25/21 09:42 PM
Outgoing ANI
by Andyreed - 01/24/21 02:52 PM
Fiber Equipment Installation
by dexman - 01/22/21 11:10 PM
8300 with UCB voicemail to email issue
by Rob Jordan - 01/22/21 06:45 PM
Power unit/interrupter issues
by Telephonemaven - 01/22/21 01:44 AM
Who's Online Now
24 members (Curlycord, Bushmills, Professor Shadow, www.telcom1.net, Touch Tone Tommy, hlwilliams, Meyery2k, iatech3800, vicbob, justbill, barnito, bttirc, dexman, BobRobert, nfcphoneman, Hofman telekom, metelcom, Skunky, MooreTel, EV607797, Not_sirius, Mercenary Roadie, ChrisRR, nortelvoip), 505 guests, and 42 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,196
Posts638,627
Members49,403
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
dcttech, George/wa2vnv, telesalesrep
Newest Members
AleGor, Schreiber, RotoTech99, corkie, FixYaBrokeStuff
49,402 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 33
Yoda 19
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners