Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
I have a new ip office we are installing, the user Wants a 9608 phone at his home. We have set up many ip phones, but usually on the same network. DO I need to set up a VPN or is there a simple way?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Open up the specific ports on the firewall, and whitelist ONLY the user's home IP to get access through the firewall. The extension is a "remote worker", you can have up to 4 without any additional licensing.

Or, program the firewall with an IPSec Group VPN, program the 9608 with matching parameters. Now you can have as many as the firewall will allow.

In both cases, be sure the remote subnet is different from the IP Office's local subnet, and you have a default route to the firewall, or add explicit routes as needed


Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Thanks Tommy - but which end needs the white list? the router at the office? Think they just have a residential router, D-link or linksys at the office same thing at the home.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
https://documentation.avaya.com/bun...erR11.0/page/Remote_HTTP_Extensions.html

At the office, you need a Static Public IP Address, the Internet modem should be set in Bridge mode, and they need a real firewall.
In the firewall, you allow connections on ports 1719, 1720, and 46750 through 50750 (but verify the RTP range on the VoIP tab of the IPO's LAN port)
The firewall must BLOCK connections on those ports from any other source, or you WILL be hacked

At this point, you might as well program an IPSec VPN on the firewall, program the built in IPSec VPN in the 9608 phone, and now the phone can connect from anywhere, even if the home's public ip changes, or you eventually need more remote phones.

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Just got back from the site, bad news, they have a cisco router, not a residential one.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
So have their IT Vendor add the programming for a remote phone or the IPSec VPN


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 13 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5