Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
System is SV9100.
We've had a lot of trouble with a remote IP phone. Bad connections, dropped calls, etc. I did a Wireshark capture at the remote end, and had NEC support look at it. They showed me where there is a public address trying to register to the phone's internal IP. After a lot of this, the phone crashes and reboots. They talked about port forwarding in the remote router to fix this.

The network guy says it wouldn't be port forwarding that is needed, but something in the router to block all traffic, except from the 9100's public address. And the cheap customer owned wireless router doesn't have that function.

Have I missed something all along that I should have done more setup on the remote end? Is the phone capable of doing this (only accepting traffic from the 9100)? Why would a remote IP phone do that anyway? Its only purpose is to communicate with the 9100, not anybody else on the internet.

Thank you.
Jim

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
I have never seen that. I have all my IP phones behind routers.

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
SIP scanners on the internet are probably hitting the router which is happily passing traffic through because it knows the phone is using port (well, you're talking on it so here's some traffic for it!). What I've been doing is move the SIP self port for the phone to a different port. seems to solve the problem.


Ex-Norstar, ex-Definity, current NEC/Zultys/Hosted/sometime-IPOffice, wait, what? another damn system? kill me now.
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Won't the scanners just find the new port you change to?

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
In theory, but they're usually canned scripts that are just trying the default sip port 5060 looking for something easy to hack. Trying 65000ish ports takes time and network resources.


Ex-Norstar, ex-Definity, current NEC/Zultys/Hosted/sometime-IPOffice, wait, what? another damn system? kill me now.
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
So, change it in the phone, and in the 9100 program. And I suppose will have to change the other IP phones?

Jim

Last edited by Yoda; 02/27/20 09:11 PM.
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Actually what you want to change is the "SIP Self Port" under Networking/advanced/self port settings. That affects what the phone is using for it's local sip connection, not what it's talking to on the 9100. You won't need to touch the 9100 for that. It's just like having multiple phones on a nat connection.


Ex-Norstar, ex-Definity, current NEC/Zultys/Hosted/sometime-IPOffice, wait, what? another damn system? kill me now.
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
That makes sense. And sounds better than changing lots of phones. I'll give it a try.

Thanks.
Jim


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,830
Posts636,775
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Florencio, HtownDan, Kerry2362, Lorena Catalan, SWB, telecom5000, Tex Tel Marine
Newest Members
Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D
49,645 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (nortelvoip), 39 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5