Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Hello again everyone. Just had a user tried to call to a number that is 900-1234 and get a "Access Deny".

When getting an outside side, we dial "9" first then the number. In this case, she dial 9, then 900 then get the access deny. How do I resolve this?

Also for voicemail, is there a way to download individual message? since the max retention for voicemail is 99 days. I could do a full backup of voicemail but would like not to do that for one person.

Currently I set voicemail to 99 days for retention and max vm of 250. So after the 99 days, does the oldest VM get deleted? or would it stay in there since you can have a max of 250 VM?

Thank you again for all your help.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
I don't believe that the code 900 can be dialed in the US as an area or exchange code. This code was once reserved for very expensive pay-per-call services, such as porn and sports betting. Because of the horrible billing issues and abuse, I'm pretty sure this code was retired from service. Are you sure that this is a legitimate number? I tried dialing several variations from here using several different types of lines and providers with the same result, which was failure of the call.

Yes, when day 100 arrives, the oldest messages will start to get discarded. As for the maximum count, once the 250th has been reached, subsequent attempts to leave a message will receive a message indicating that the mailbox is full. Keep in mind that all of these counts are limited by the number of hours of storage that your system has.

As for the question about downloading voice mail messages, there are many utilities like that that can only be accessed via the system's serial port. That's outside of the scope of support that we can provide here.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Originally Posted by crazysupratt
Hello again everyone. Just had a user tried to call to a number that is 900-1234 and get a "Access Deny".

When getting an outside side, we dial "9" first then the number. In this case, she dial 9, then 900 then get the access deny. How do I resolve this?


The format 900-1234 tells me it's a Central Office code.
Is 900 the Office Code or Area Code?

"Following FCC's rules, assignees holding geographic and/or certain non-geographic (NPA 5XX and 900) telephone numbers must report on their holdings twice each year (February 1 and August 1), using the Form 502, the Numbering Resource Utilization/Forecast (NRUF) Report."

Here are the owners of all 900-NXX numbers if you need: https://www.nationalnanpa.com/enas/form900MasterReport.do


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Thanks for the response. 900 is not the area code.

The number she is dialing is a cell number I believe. When she calls it on her cell phone it works.

The full number is (559)900-XXXX

appreciate your help

Last edited by Professor Shadow; 04/16/20 09:00 PM. Reason: Removed full number. Netbots and such...
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
It may be that the phone system is set to block 1-900 numbers and thinks that number is disallowed. See if they can dial the number with the area code. Otherwise you might have to add that specific number to an allowed dialing list.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
can you tell me which menu to check what number is allowed and not allowed? Thanks for your help.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Originally Posted by crazysupratt
Thanks for the response. 900 is not the area code.

The number she is dialing is a cell number I believe. When she calls it on her cell phone it works.

The full number is (559)900-XXXX

appreciate your help

Not that it matters, the CO is Onvoy, LLC


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,670
Likes: 9
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,670
Likes: 9
In order to do programming, you would need to have a manual and know which phone system you have. Somewhere in the rules, we get to invoke the "beyond the scope of this forum" phrase.

You may have LCR so an LCR-DMT form lurks in your program.

You may also be able to trick the system by dialing 11 digits to see if it routes your call correctly. I don't know if you have to dial 7 or 10 digits to make a local call, but I'm guessing only 7. That means you need to set up different rules for the 900 conflict.

Carl

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Area Code 559 requires 10 digit dialing for local calls. However, If you live in California area code 408 or 669, you must dial 1 plus the area code and the 7-digit number.

https://www.att.com/support/smallbusiness/article/smb-digital-phone/KM1195588


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,670
Likes: 9
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,670
Likes: 9
I never know if that's right or not. ATT says one thing and localcallingguide says something else.
https://localcallingguide.com/lca_dialplan.php?npa=559

I didn't see an overlay code so I tend to believe local calling guide

Carl

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 11
ramo 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 54 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5