Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Partner ACS T1 module setup
#636972 05/29/20 08:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
Hey guys.

As you may have seen in the buy and sell forum, I was looking for a T1 module for the ACS.

Well, now I have one, and I'm a little stuck on something.

I have a test rig set up with the module in the leftmost slot of a 5 slot carrier, ACS 6.0 processor in the middle and nothing else. I have a crappy netbook running XP so I can use the remote admin software, connected to a USB to serial adapter, connected to a USR 56K modem. Sigh. That part all works.

What I can't figure out: I set up all 16 available lines, plugged a T1 crossover cable from my asterisk box to the partner. So far so good. If I pick up any of the lines on the T1 module, I get dial tone from my switch. What I can't get my head around is why the partner won't send digits until after like an 8 second delay. Anything I dial in the first 8 seconds is just ignored, and no tones are heard when dialing, then I can dial normally and the call completes just fine.

I want to make sure I get this right before I plug the module into my main system.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #636976 05/30/20 12:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
Something I just noticed, this only happens from an actual partner phone. If I plug a standard SLT phone into a station port, since it generates it's own tones, it dials immediately. Something in the system is preventing system phones from generating tones until several seconds have passed.

Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #636977 05/30/20 12:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
I've never seen the T1 module before, so, this is all guesswork. Could the system be waiting for more digits? If the "#" button is pressed after the last digit, does it make any difference? ponder


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #636978 05/30/20 01:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
No. It just completely ignores anything until about 7 or 8 seconds go by, then it works normally.

The phone registers the dialed digits on the display, but no tones are heard. Conversely, if I plug an SLT into the spare jack on a system phone, the SLT dials normally and everything works as it should, and the system phone display shows the digits as I dial them. I just tried it with another processor I have and a new 5 slot carrier and no change.

Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #636980 05/30/20 02:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
I think I know what the problem is.

I think.

My T1's are set to immediate, specifically FXO Kewlstart, and the ACS T1 card is looking for wink signaling. The line settings say E&M Wink all over them, and you can't change it. So I have to change the signaling from my asterisk box from FXOKS (yes fxo- its backwards in asterisk) to EM_W.

If and when I figure it out, I'll report back.

Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #636983 05/30/20 02:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
Signaling mismatch could, indeed, be the issue right there. thumbsup


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #637016 06/02/20 12:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,393
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,393
If its a signaling issue wouldn't the SLT phone have the same issue as the system phones?


We get old too soon, smart too late
Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #637051 06/04/20 04:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
I don't think so, and here is my reasoning.

The channels (on the span) are configured for immediate (or as asterisk calls it, kewlstart) as you would use with most standard channel banks. When you go off hook on one of the partner extensions, you are connected directly to that channel. The partner system is either sending or waiting for a wink, or both, and since the channels aren't configured for that (coming from the asterisk system) the partner never gets its signal that says "the channel is ready and waiting for digits". The touch tones on a partner system are not generated within the phone itself, they are generated within the processor or expansion module the phone is plugged into. Since the module hasn't gotten the "ok" to send digits, it won't send them.... until it just times out and does it anyway.

A single line phone, on the other hand, generates its own touch tones, needing only talk battery to do so. So you dial a digit, the phone dutifully does what it does, and it sends a tone down the line. My spans, being configured the way they are, hears the tone and cuts dial tone and awaits further digits, the number of which depends on the first digit dialed. (9 for a pstn line, 1 for c-net line, 0 for international c-net, etc)

The other thing I noticed which may or may not be relevant, I get a crap-ton of CRC errors on the span tied to the partner module. This tells me there are signals being sent that it isn't expecting, but I'm not an expert enough to know. None of my other spans ever have CRC errors or possibly 1 or 2 over a long period of time, but nothing significant. It's not the crossover cable, I've used it with my adtran channel bank and never see any errors.

Clear as mud?

I'm still waiting on an email from an asterisk guru to help me change the signaling on this span. I tried and screwed my whole system up. Fortunately I made a backup of the config file so I could put it back and get up and running in only a few minutes.

Linux and asterisk are like trying to learn Mandarin...

I miss DOS...

Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #637052 06/04/20 09:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
It's been a long time since I tested T1 circuits. I think CRC errors indicate a coding mismatch (AMI/B8ZS).


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: Partner ACS T1 module setup
ChrisRR #637054 06/04/20 04:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,536
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,536
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by ChrisRR
Linux and asterisk are like trying to learn Mandarin...

I am currently taking a class in Java* (not Javascript) and throughout all the material they constantly say, "its just like you would do in C++". Great, what the hell is C++? If I took that class would they constantly state: "It's just like Java..."

I miss the days of Unix.

*The class is online only, read the book, do the assignments then take the tests. Absolutely no class presentation or instruction videos. I'm just hoping to pass the class!


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
25 members (hitechcomm, Yoda, RATHER BE FISHING, Herk, jsb15, justbill, newtecky, Bob3470, nfcphoneman, nortelvoip, Edward_, buttercool, BobRobert, hbiss, Curlycord, brokeda, dexman, Touch Tone Tommy, Ruben, Professor Shadow, MooreTel, Meyery2k, dude, JBean3329, metelcom), 182 guests, and 90 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,641
Members49,367
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie, 4teltech
49367 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 20
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Toner 9
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners