Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
SV 9100 CP 10
#638304 09/18/20 05:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
Hi

I have a customer with an SV 9100 CP 10 with all IP phones multiple locations PRI at the main location

And just IP phones at the other locations

The system has been in for years without any problems with call quality that we knew of


About three weeks ago one of the locations started experiencing some poor call quality

Incoming and outgoing calls

I talk to him yesterday over the phone and I could hear it there was some Poor call quality issues going on

I went out there today with their data guy and the call seem to be fine so it was really hard to try to figure out what it could be but I did upgrade the phone system to the latest and greatest software just to double check and make sure that it wasn’t a software issue I’m just wondering what’s the best way to troubleshoot this

About an hour after I left they called and said it started happening again on an outbound call

Just not sure if we’re supposed to use wire shark or dim trace to try to figure out what it could be and then how do we get someone to do decipher that information

I’m pretty sure they using the VPN and VLans

I’m just wondering if there could possibly be any settings on the NEC that I could adjust but the fact that it’s only a three week old problem and they had The system for a long time seems really strange

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

JD

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: SV 9100 CP 10
teldata1 #638305 09/18/20 05:35 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,935
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,935
You need to isolate it. Is the call quality internally or when you are an outside call? If the later only you have carrier issues. If internally, which will affect the other, it's going to be a network issue.

Re: SV 9100 CP 10
teldata1 #638306 09/18/20 07:29 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
It’s all calls hitting the PRI incoming and outgoing however it only seems to be a problem with two of the users

I haven’t been to the site in a long time since we installed it about three years ago

I just noticed in programming that
There the two phones In question
They have a button on them to dial out that will grab group 3
So that when they dial out the caller ID will show a different number because it’s a separate company however I noticed that the D channel was in that group as well it was only two telephone numbers in the group 23 and 24

It’s supposed to be channel 22 and 23 so I’m not sure if having the D channel in a group would cause problems but I guess we’ll see

Thanks for responding

Re: SV 9100 CP 10
teldata1 #638329 09/21/20 05:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,935
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,935
I'm not understanding why you are doing caller id on a per channel basis. Why wouldn't you be using CLIP instead per station?

Re: SV 9100 CP 10
teldata1 #638356 09/22/20 10:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
They share the same phones with another company

Re: SV 9100 CP 10
teldata1 #638357 09/22/20 10:50 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,935
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,935
Ya, so if we are talking the same physical phone (used for both) you simply create a special call coverage key to send the correct caller ID.

Re: SV 9100 CP 10
teldata1 #638456 09/30/20 11:20 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 371
I'm not sure I understand they want to show the outbound caller ID when the dial out whats the code that would use


Thanks

JD

Re: SV 9100 CP 10
teldata1 #638459 09/30/20 12:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,393
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,393
I would assign a virtual to one of the buttons, allow the virtual to dial out, assign that virtual the caller ID number it needs to show.
Coral Tech might have a better solution.


We get old too soon, smart too late

Moderated by  DrPbx, ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
24 members (Curlycord, Touch Tone Tommy, Yoda, newtecky, EV607797, Professor Shadow, justbill, BobRobert, hitechcomm, Bob3470, pvj, RATHER BE FISHING, dexman, Ruben, Memphisribs, jeffmoss26, Herk, nonameyet, hbiss, peice, Noobed2336, JBean3329, DD782, brokeda), 197 guests, and 88 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,645
Members49,368
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Mr.Alex, T4RJon, Tim Sparks, Txnamrag
Newest Members
Nickonicle, chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie
49368 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 19
Ruben 15
hbiss 11
Daniel 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners