Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#638921 11/15/20 02:32 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
I have a location that has two PCs that I remote into. They put in a DSL connection for one of the PCs but I would like to connect the second PC to the same DSL. There is about 600' between the two PCs. How can I extend the DSL to the second PC (cheaply) ?


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built in the last 10 years don't expect it to work right.
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
metelcom #638923 11/15/20 05:58 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,310
Likes: 2
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,310
Likes: 2
I don't think you can share a DSL line. What you could do is network the two PCs and the DSL router. Then use a couple of ethernet "extenders" (really your own DSL) to extend the ethernet over a single pair to the remote PC.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
metelcom #638930 11/16/20 09:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,288
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,288
Likes: 3
I second the idea of an Ethernet extension setup. They make them now that will operate over a single pair and not too expensive either.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
metelcom #638931 11/16/20 03:00 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
I thought it was possible but I was hoping to find someone that had done this and could tell me a good product to use. Would like to have something that does not need repeaters just one device on each end of 600' cable.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built in the last 10 years don't expect it to work right.
metelcom #638934 11/16/20 03:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,288
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,288
Likes: 3
Black Box has some pretty good gadgets for this. Not the cheapest out there, but likely the best.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
metelcom #638940 11/16/20 05:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,310
Likes: 2
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,310
Likes: 2
Quote
Would like to have something that does not need repeaters just one device on each end of 600' cable.

That's exactly what we're talking about.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
metelcom #638957 11/17/20 07:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 341
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 341
Likes: 1


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
metelcom #638959 11/17/20 10:52 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
Thanks Daniel and the rest of you. I was hoping to find something cheap <200 Do you think I could get enough connection for remote programming by just running a 600' Cat 5


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built in the last 10 years don't expect it to work right.
metelcom #638961 11/18/20 05:56 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,288
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,288
Likes: 3
If you're willing to run a 600' cable, it would cost about the same for 600' of two-strand fiber. A pre-terminated cable wouldn't be too much more. A pair of media converters can be had for under $200.00.

I know this is a bit of a stretch, but if the power is served by the same transformer, you might get a set of these to work. I've used something similar at a country club where they needed to extend a network connection to a pump house. It wasn't lightning-fast, in fact it was kinda slow, but for something like remote programming, it did OK.



https://www.bestbuy.com/site/netgea...CISXkNSzi-0CFZTbDQodkbYB3w&gclsrc=ds


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
metelcom #638962 11/18/20 06:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 808
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 808
I've used NetSys extenders before. They can go almost 1000' if I remember correctly. The ones that we've used, are essentially setting up a VDSL circuit between the tow units. The trick is to make sure that they are not on the same pair as the original DSL circuit feeding your Internet connection. They can potentially interfere and reduce your signal.


Moderated by  MooreTel, tito1411 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Comdial DXP Call flows
by Rocket J Tech - 04/12/21 02:59 PM
24 VS 23 Gauge
by teldata1 - 04/09/21 10:28 AM
Bell System Central Office Rotation
by dexman - 04/09/21 01:30 AM
DSX 40 built in auto attendant
by dougster - 04/07/21 03:16 PM
SVMI-2 AND SVMI-2E
by dougster - 04/06/21 11:16 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,342
Posts639,398
Members49,445
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Hossmaan
Newest Members
Rocket J Tech, Jonce, Generoso, Flashy65, dv8inpp
49,445 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 57
Ruben 17
MJonas 7
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
35 members (sundance, ffej010, dougster, Touch Tone Tommy, Meyery2k, hbiss, BobRobert, Carl Navarro, FONEFXR, nortelvoip, Yoda, justbill, jeffmoss26, mongo5150, Mercenary Roadie, dude, MooreTel, JBean3329, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, Curlycord, pvj, KRRath, Ruben, www.telcom1.net, Rocket J Tech, phonemeister, Silversam, nfcphoneman, Professor Shadow, newtecky, BalkyNY, NateBates, Iwatsu Guru, Ironhedz, Memphisribs), 454 guests, and 81 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners