Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#639678 01/21/21 04:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Sorry to be blowing up this forum lately grin I know it's just a silly home project, so I appreciate everyone's time.

I've got the ACPU, EVCM, and an LSI II card in the cabinet to start with, just to test before I go any further. Power the system up, boots fine. Everything is wired up....but no signs of life from phones at all. No talk battery, no display (M64), no LED's. Nothing. I'm using 2 pairs per station, starting with blue/white and orange/white (not using an Executone MDF, but there's nothing weird about the layout of the wiring, right??). I changed button programming on the port I am using to be the default M64 layout. I've got extensions assigned to ports starting with port 001 on the F screen. LSI card has double green LED's. Processor itself seems happy, both of the upper red LED's are blinking. The system sees the LSI card. All cards/ports pass diagnostics no problem. But still, no signs of life. I've tried multiple ports. I've tried multiple LSI cards in multiple slots. I've tried all 4 phones I have right now. No luck.

Am I missing something here?

The phones aren't in the best shape in the world and are of unknown origin, so I suppose it's possible I happen to have 4 bad phones, but it just seems odd that they'd all show the exact same issue...so I'm thinking I'm missing something else.

Thanks!

GA
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,558
Likes: 1
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,558
Likes: 1
What ACPU are you running? ( also PM sent )


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,225
pvj Online Content
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,225
Stupid question, but are your line cords 2 pair?
Your wiring is correct, 12 phones per card so only the last pair violet/slate are for external page.
You can measure voltage on the jack . It's been so long but you I think you should see voltage from a white/blue or blue/white wire to a white/orange orange/white wire at the jack. I think around 24-28 vdc should be there.

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
It's a 648 ACPU in a 108 cabinet.

And I am using 2 pair line cords. I'll check the voltage.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,066
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,066
Andy, very simple answer. Take a step back, leave it alone for a day or 2 and rethink the situation.
Through clear eyes vthe answer maybe be simple or at least in sight.

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Well. It was a very simple answer. I had a box of line cords that should have been tossed out, and 1 of the phones I was testing with was no bueno.

All is well. Stupid line cord. Stupid me. bash

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,225
pvj Online Content
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,225
A line cord. I'm still gonna take credit for being right smile

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 279
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 279
It is always the little thing. Especially when your looking for major things to be bad,
The Isoetec system was a work horse for it's day and very reliable for sure.
if you are using it for home use why are you doing PRI
And if you have the right version software on the ACPU when you install a Voice Mail card
the options will activate themselves no download needed.

Good Luck
and let us know how it goes.


mjc
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Why am I using PRI? Easy. It's cheap--or at least I was able to make it cheap.

Several years ago Vitelity was selling SIP trunks to non-business entities for next to nothing. I'm paying $21/month for phone service with 6 DID's. Long distance and international calls are about a half a cent a minute. Instead of using analog adapters I spent about $30 or so on a used Cisco router and a T1 card for it. SIP service in to the router, out as a PRI. Works very, very well, especially now that I have fiber internet service at home.

And mc601, I'm looking for the VMS and VMI options for now so I can use 3rd party voicemail--at least until I acquire an Executone voicemail card or VXC. Which card would you recommend?

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 279
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 279
EVX card they use to sell them with a flash drive so you will not have hard drive issues


mjc

Moderated by  nonameyet, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Coaxial Cable
by dexman - 03/04/21 03:53 AM
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
SX200 ICP & ASU Bad ports
by Barrontel - 03/02/21 03:15 AM
NEC SV8100 Inmail Utility
by Sam Juniper - 03/01/21 11:02 PM
IP office and routing calling groups
by High Mesa Communications - 03/01/21 10:56 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,282
Posts639,048
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
oldtimer1
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 22
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
33 members (phonemeister, sundance, byacey, dexman, RATHER BE FISHING, justbill, hitechcomm, Mercenary Roadie, newtecky, BobRobert, hbiss, jeffmoss26, oldpoleclimber, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, kjwiewall, High Mesa Communications, Coral Tech, dans, telecom guy10, Daniel, Canteleco, Ruben, Yoda, nfcphoneman, Joel J., Bob3470, Avidcomm, Professor Shadow, pvj, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, Carl Navarro, KRRath), 631 guests, and 47 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners