Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
bobw Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
Good Day,

This is my first install for Summit (100), but have older experience with other Vodavi (StarPlus, DHS, STS) and Vertical SBX.

4CO, 16 Digital Stations.

I changed stations 108-111 (SLT) to different numbers because they fall between the digital stations and would like sequential numbering without the break
108->1080
109->1090
110->1100
111->1110

I thought by assigning new numbers that I then could renumber the 112 as 108, 113 as 109, and so on to obtain 100-115 numbering for the digital phones
BUT I cannot save the changes (reverts back to 112, 113 and so on..

Can the numbers be reused and then how?

Thank You in Advance
-bob

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
bobw Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
In further testing I found that I could change 100-107 to 1000 -1007 and then 112-115 to 1008-1114 which gives me sequential numbering for the digital stations and left the SLTs in a higher number range

I was hoping that I could then go back and change the numbering to 3 digits again 100-107 and then 108-115 but it won't allow me to change back to 3 digits.

In oddity I noticed is the system is sensitive when using the GUI if you want to change the a flex button assigned to a station #. I found that I can't just change the value directly, say from 100 to 101
BUT have to change the button to N/A then go back and assign the flex as a station # and value.

I haven't tried this at the phone.

Any further help would be appreciated. I am going to try and get re-registered with Vertical today.

Thank You in Advance
-bob

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
bobw Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
Correction of the extension edit, I was wrong. The GUI is allowing me to edit via the INPUT column and saving today.
Perhaps a bug in MS Edge browser

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,080
Likes: 8
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,080
Likes: 8
I find Edge is buggy in many of the telephony apps I have tried.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,315
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,315
Likes: 7
I had a similar situation when installing a fairly large Summit 800 system where four-digit dialing was required. After fumbling with the GUI interface (not a big fan), I chose to use a phone to make these changes. I ended up blanking out the extension numbers, and yes, it took forever, but I was afforded the ability to enter anything I wanted for extension numbers.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
bobw Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
Originally Posted by EV607797
I had a similar situation when installing a fairly large Summit 800 system where four-digit dialing was required. After fumbling with the GUI interface (not a big fan), I chose to use a phone to make these changes. I ended up blanking out the extension numbers, and yes, it took forever, but I was afforded the ability to enter anything I wanted for extension numbers.

Ed, What you posted is in agreement with a friend I have who has done Vodavi/Vertical for as long as I have.

He said last night that he deletes all the stations numbers and then types them all in and saves it.

Back to Rather Be Fishing - yes I have found bugs that can be duplicated.

Some of this comes from developer vs installer/user. Although I have been in networking since 1986, voice since 1990, I have also taken on software development jobs and debugging is a ongoing chore - more so when I missed the request and the user tries to use the software the way they think it should work - does that make sense? Whereas I might understand (actually do) Cisco's CLI the GUI throws me for a loop just as with most hardware that I learned from the command line - the GUI's don't always make sense.

Anyway, I am going to tackle the AA now. Some of the tables look similar to SBX but I don't know what I am up against yet...

-bob

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,139
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,139
When using the GUI to renumber stations and there is a conflict with an existing station number, use a * in front of the conflicting station number and then "Save". Next, renumber as you wish.

In other words, if I want to change extension 100 to extension 101, I'll first change extension 101 to extension *101. Then I can renumber 100 to 101 without a conflict.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
bobw Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
Originally Posted by nfcphoneman
When using the GUI to renumber stations and there is a conflict with an existing station number, use a * in front of the conflicting station number and then "Save". Next, renumber as you wish.

In other words, if I want to change extension 100 to extension 101, I'll first change extension 101 to extension *101. Then I can renumber 100 to 101 without a conflict.

Interesting - I will try that as soon as I get a chance -

Thank you -

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,080
Likes: 8
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,080
Likes: 8
Great info Larry. Thanks much.


[Linked Image]

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,579
Posts635,605
Members49,577
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Ashley, Bob Truitt, JALinker, Leeb
Newest Members
chyc, LostieWitness, djringjr, ScottRSA, Adam B
49,577 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
bobw 11
dexman 6
Who's Online Now
3 members (jeffmoss26, Coral Tech, muddybl), 12 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5