Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Partner Remote Access
#80311 07/12/06 08:04 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
Is anyone having problem logging into an Avaya Partner System via remote access or local access for programming, have a new Dell Laptop, problem is far end not talking with my laptop or get connect @ 7200 or not @ all.

You can e-mail me @ [email protected]

Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: Partner Remote Access
#80312 07/12/06 09:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 317
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 317
let me know if you find out .... i've had nothing but problems trying.


| Telephone Systems | Voice / Data Cabling | phoning since 1979.
Re: Partner Remote Access
#80313 07/13/06 05:15 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,596
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,596
I've heard that it has something to do with Windows XP. I can log in remotely if it's just the ACS card in the system, but add an expansion card? Forget it. Not even if I do it from an extension.

Re: Partner Remote Access
#80314 07/13/06 05:58 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,571
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,571
The remote access feature of the Avaya Partner ACS is quirky . Some external modems from Lucent and US Robotics work best, but even then you need to step down to 1200 baud.


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: Partner Remote Access
#80315 08/01/06 05:59 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
My PC Admin is running on a IBM Thinkpad T40 with internal modem. Remote Access card is in slot one on ACS R7. I set the modem to 1200 baud and connect to station 11 on the ACS R7.

Try to connect using 'Direct Dial'= 11 -----

It always returns the message:
...device did not receive modem tone answer from the far end.....unable to establish the dialup connection.

Is my Remote Access card bad?

*********

Update - Now using an external modem, max port speed set at 1200 [and info from Avaya]:

Direct Dial = 76 [modem port?] I hear intercom dial tone, 2 digits dialed, modem answers on 3rd ring [audible click] and I hear several modem tones

then PC Admin again displays error msg:

'...device did not receive modem tone answer from the far end.....unable to establish dialup session.'

Any ideas?

Thank you for help!

JW


You only need to know the right button to push-
Re: Partner Remote Access
#80316 08/01/06 10:46 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
Update #2

I learned that setting the PC to dial to 76 [apparently the modem station number] does seem to make contact with the Partner modem [Remote card], but I had no luck actually connecting with the external modem, so I switched back to the internal modem, also set at 1200 baud,
PC dial to 76, .........and *Wheee!*

....now the message shows

"Connected at 1200 baud"

Then after about a minute the message changes to:

"Session initiation with the Partner system has failed"

I think I am getting closer -

Any ideas?

Thank you for help-

JW


You only need to know the right button to push-
Re: Partner Remote Access
#80317 08/02/06 05:11 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,573
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,573
What release Partner are you connecting to? Ihad problems connecting to an R6, but when the R7 came out, I had no problems.

Re: Partner Remote Access
#80318 08/02/06 07:38 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
R7


You only need to know the right button to push-
Re: Partner Remote Access
#80319 08/02/06 08:14 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,217
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,217
The recommendation with the R7 is to either connect to the serial port directly (through a 355A adaptor) or use an external modem connected the same way.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: Partner Remote Access
#80320 08/02/06 09:02 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 64
Hi- thanks for the reply.

Using a new Supra external modem [to USB on PC]:
Direct Dial = 76 [modem port?] I hear intercom dial tone, 2 digits dialed, modem answers on 3rd ring [audible click] and I hear several modem tones

then PC Admin again displays error msg:

'...device did not receive modem tone answer from the far end.....unable to establish dialup session


Using internal modem [thinkpad t40]:

It will connect to R7

display = "Connected at 1200 baud"

Then after about a minute the message displayed changes to:

"Session initiation with the Partner system has failed"

But it does connect. And the "connected at 1200" remains displayed, and I still have access to PC Admin commands, until I select the 'disconnect button' Since I have never been able to use PC Admin before, I am wondering if there is another communication that is expected during this 30 second period that ends in the "...session failed" msg above?

Thanks for help-

JW


You only need to know the right button to push-

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Suttle Apparatus Acquisition.
by dexman - 07/11/20 03:59 AM
Headset in-use relay
by SST - 07/08/20 06:33 PM
Partner ACS AA
by mtncomm1 - 07/08/20 04:18 PM
Samsung SVMI20i
by crazy canuck - 07/08/20 03:40 PM
Help with Electra Elite IPK
by ECI Tech - 07/08/20 11:56 AM
Who's Online Now
37 members (dexman, Yoda, Carl Navarro, ffej010, RATHER BE FISHING, Mercenary Roadie, hitechcomm, hbiss, EV607797, nonameyet, newtecky, BobRobert, nortelvoip, justbill, mbhydro, usedphones, juno, Silversam, JBean3329, Marko65, Ruben, Rok1215, Arthur P. Bloom, Touch Tone Tommy, crazy canuck, Curlycord, OBT, KRRath, Memphisribs, mtncomm1, Bob-o, Joel J., Professor Shadow, jacktel, conxtel, Meyery2k, mike b), 320 guests, and 57 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,806
Posts636,323
Members49,310
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
94astro, Jasonrod11, Joefish711, John McFerren, Timo
Newest Members
StevCom, DaleG, jlspeck, Real Estating, ForestHillChurch
49310 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 21
dans 10
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners