Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#84374 04/10/07 09:38 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
I have a customer w/an old Legend system (rel. 2 processor) that is having a problem with their analog ports. Just about every other time you go off hook and try to dial you can't break dial tone. They have 3 12port cards in the system and all of them are doing it, every port. Was thinking of just going into maintenance and resetting/busy-out/restore each card. Other option obviously is to just cold start the whole switch, but I absolutely hate doing that on such an old system. Any thoughts?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,698
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,698
I would busyout and release a port board. Seems funny though that all three would act up. It may need a full reboot.

Let's see what the veterans in the site suggest before doing that.


To Succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funnybone. ..Reba McEntire
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 148
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 148
MichaelV,

Does this happen when you connect a butt set directly ???

Try doing a board renumber (not system)
What happens when you dial ext on those boards???
Yes try disabling the card and reenable.

-D


Dennis
Samsung Authorized Dealer, AVAYA reseller, One Communications Team Partner
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
maybe the power supply is going bad..does this
system a 4x0 TTR card ?

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
Moderator-NEC
*****
Offline
Moderator-NEC
*****
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
You most likely have a bad TTR in the system . They are a shared resource in the system once the bad one come up to be used again the system will not recognize touch tones until you hang up and make another call. If you have 2 TTRs in the system every other analog call would do as yours does.
In some cases of a bad TTR, once the bad one is being used the system does not even "know" you are dialing because you are dialing to deaf "ears" (TTRs)

Do a TTR Test With 3 - 012 cards you should have at least six. Sounds like a bunch are bad

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 515
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 515
MichaelV - If I was still a Tier 3 Engineer, I would prescribe the following:

1 - Power Down and back up.

2 - Do a BOARD RENUMBER

3 - Test Each and Every Touch Tone Receiver.

If 1 or 2 doesn't fix it, you will at least be able to determine your problem with 3.


RULE NUMBER 2, "THINKIN' WON'T GET IT, YOU GOTTA KNOW!" RULE NUMBER 3, if you need TIER-3 SUPPORT on a LEGEND or MAGIX, go to http://home.comcast.net/~merlinman -
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Thanks for the responses! Yes, I used a buttset directly connected to test the ports. So there are 2 TTR's on each 012 board? Well, I think it would be way out of the ordinary for 3 TTR's on 3 012 boards to go bad at the same time, assuming each card uses its own TTR's first, could be wrong there. It sounds like I'm going to have to try the cold restart. Also, does the switch have to be completely idle for the board renumber?

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
Moderator-NEC
*****
Offline
Moderator-NEC
*****
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
It is a shared resource. The cards have to preference to which one it uses. They are all used equally.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
OK, if its a shared resource, how do I go about testing the TTR's to determine which ones are bad? Assuming a reboot and renumber doesn't work.

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 99
392 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 99
Pickup a single line handset attached to a 012 or 016 module, dial *04 and the TTR you want to test (01, 02, 03, etc).

You'll get a busy if it's in use, reorder if you misdialed or specified a TTR that's not in your system. If you hear reorder, try again.

A good test will begin with a couple seconds of silence, followed by dial tone. Dial 0123456789*0#. You should hear a beep for every digit, 3 beeps when you complete the dial string of 12 digits.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,745
Posts636,433
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cTopher, djmoutt, ffej010, Kenneth J McLean, telephonegunner, Tellink
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
jsaad 5
Toner 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
3 members (nameless, BrianS, Bushmills), 68 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5