Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#86394 09/18/07 06:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
Does anyone have experience with a Magic on Hold install, or know the programming involved ?

GA
#86395 09/18/07 07:16 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
As far as the Magic on Hold unit.......... their isn't any programing.

What system are you connecting it to?


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
#86396 09/18/07 08:02 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,301
Likes: 2
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,301
Likes: 2
It's probably the only one still in existance. I can't believe anybody would want to use that thing with what's available today.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#86397 09/18/07 09:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
Hmmm. What I know is that the standards for digital media storage is a moving target. I can easily iterate at least 14 different formats, from CompactFlash to xD chips.

Magic-On-Hold uses SD technology (considered "old" by most today...but it works well) and a proprietary format for recording messages. You can't simply slip the card into a SanDisk reader and expect to see a wav or other common audio file.

The unit has an RCA connector in back, which you must adapt to an RJ-11 and place into the defined MOH port of the Magix.

A generic On-Hold message comes stock on the chip, but there is opportunity to customize it. The Magic-On-Hold device should have arrived with paperwork for the customer to fill out. It entitles them to a single professional recording, which is delivered on a replacement SD chip.

Also, I have a spare Magic-On-Hold unit in a sealed box if yours has somehow failed.


"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers.", Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM (1943)
#86398 09/19/07 06:13 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,301
Likes: 2
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,301
Likes: 2
Or... is he talking about MOH on a Magix system. :shrug:

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#86399 09/20/07 05:58 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
thanks to everyone for the replies. the system involved is a Definity G3 SI release 11 or 12. I have looked through the man pages (gasp!) and it seems that I need to do this:

1) locate the TN763 pack
2) wire from the pack to the Magic (RCA - how do you do that ?)
3) complete CPE Trunk Group form
4) complete Feature-Related System Parameters form

I haven't found specific details on completing those forms. Can anybody point me to a step-by-step ?

#86400 09/20/07 07:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,716
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,716
The TN763 is your Aux card. Type this command and you'll see where it is located in your PBX.
"list conf all" (list configuration all)
It will be something like 01C16. 01 = the cabinet, C = the carrier, 16 = the slot that card is in. The card should have a 25 pr cable running from the back of the PBX to the MDF (Main Distribution Frame) along with all the other cables to either 66 or more likely 110 block. You'll connect your MOH device to port 1. (more on that later)
Type this command:
"cha sys fea" (change system-parameters features)
On my switch, which is older than yours so it might be different, line 7 is Music/Tone on Hold:
In the first blank type "music". After that is Port: Type in whatever card slot you Aux card is in. Mine is 01C1601.
Back to the hard physical wiring. If it is like dagwood says, RCA connectors, you'll have to strip the wires and splice on some cross-connect wire. Then punch this down on the 110 block at port 1. I don't think polarity is an issue, but it's a good practice to do it like a phone. Lets say you are using a pair of white/blue blue/white wire... punch it down white/blue and blue/white.

Also type the command.
"disp fea" (display feature-access-codes)
On page 2 you'll find
Facility Test Calls Access Code.
There should be a number there. Mine is 68
So if I want to test the MOH from any phone ... Bruce Springsteen is on right now... I dial 680131601 68 - the test access code, 01 = the cabinet, 3 = carrier C, 1601 = the card and port. Now it's John Cougar.
I'm sure about the trunk group form having anything to do with it...
Ah, Eric Clapton


Candor - Intelligence - Good Will
#86401 09/20/07 08:01 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
thanks so much for the info. as a reward, I'll give you a number you can really use:

Rick Coberly
717 284 3045

This is my amp technician. I just got my black panel (pre-CBS) Deluxe back from him, and I can't believe what this thing sounds like. Eric Clapton, eat your heart out. Well, maybe come over and play it if you want.


(I'm assuming you're a player)

#86402 09/20/07 08:17 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,716
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,716
Oh I'm a player all right. Fortunatley I work for Peavey so there are plenty of amp technicians here. I whip them all the time with questions.

A pre-CBS Fender. Sweet. I saw a Twin Reverb at the local music store the other day. Very tempting.


Candor - Intelligence - Good Will
#86403 09/20/07 09:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,138
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,138
You already have the commands. Here is how I wire it. Buy this from radioshack.com

Model: Shielded solder connect phono plugs
Catalog #: 274-339


Solder your white/blue to the RCA jack. And cross connect the other end to your aux board. Program and your done.


[Linked Image from phototiki.com]
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Clarity Cordless phones
by NECIITech - 03/08/21 09:41 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/07/21 01:00 AM
Samsung DCS power failure
by Telesystems - 03/06/21 09:55 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/06/21 05:09 PM
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,291
Posts639,140
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
new2telecom, Ravishaw
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
Ruben 27
pvj 13
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
2 members (pvj, hitechcomm), 26 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners