Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
gman186 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
I have a Merlin Legend configured as PBX. 2 questions dealing with operator lines:
If PBX is already configured and I want to change the operator extension to a differnet extension that is already setup. Can I set that up without reconfiguring the system and to an already assigned extension?
2nd question: On unanswered calls after the call is dropped, it rings the assigned operator phones and shows it in display as "Return". How do I stop this from occuring?

GA
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,991
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,991
gman,
Could you take a moment to complete your profile with ,location ,occupation ,etc.

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
You have to take lines assignment from Operator's phone first then delete that Operator position and reassign to new one. You don't have to reconfigure the systen but switch will reseted itself. Usually "return" or "recall" happend on Single line Panasonic phones and this
is cause of Hook Flash timing different then American standart.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
gman186 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
I did update profile. thanks!

These are not differnet type of phones, these are Avaya MLX-10/MLX5 MLX20.. Does anyone know why I get a "return" when phone disconnects on operator line?

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,299
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,299
Can't decipher question 1 as to what you want to do. Do you just want to change the Operator's extension number to something that is already in use, or you want to make someone else the Operator? Could you expand on what you want to do.

Question 2 - what is the senario? A call transferred to an extension and unanswered? An incoming call answered by the Auto Attendant, but the caller hung up instead of selecting a destination?

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
gman186 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Yes I want to reassign the operator function to an extension# that is already in use. Example I have ext# 10 & 14 as opertors (no phones presently hooked up to them) I want ext# 22 (already assigned & have a phone configured)to be an opertaor.I do not really have a need at the moment for 2 operators extensions. I was told before that a non-operator extension can not have 2 line appearances for 2 incoming outside calls that is the main reason I am changing it.
Question#2 deals with incoming outside calls presently I believe no AA, and phone call hangs up or is answered by a network voicemail and on operator phone only it sends a ring back to operator phone w/ "Return" in display.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,299
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,299
OK, the Operator extensions are restricted to certain ports on the system, the 1st and 5th if you have a 412TDL card. So you would have to physically rewire either Ext. 10 or 14 to where Ext. 22 is currently, then renumber the current 22 to "something else" so that you can renumber the Operator extension to 22.

"Return" in the display deals with a call transferred to another extension, that didn't pick up the transferred call, and didn't cover to Messaging, coming back to the extension that transferred it in the 1st place. If the transfer return rings is lower than the voice mail cover rings, the call will come back instead of cover to voice mail. So, still not sure who answered the call 1st, what they did with it, where it went, to figure out why it would be returning.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/07/21 01:00 AM
Samsung DCS power failure
by Telesystems - 03/06/21 09:55 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/06/21 05:09 PM
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,290
Posts639,135
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Ken 1959, NEC Tech, patspidy, Skate4u
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 33
Ruben 27
pvj 13
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
31 members (Ruben, westerntelephone, hbiss, Allied Telcom, bditech, Tech2014, Coral Tech, RonP, justbill, vicbob, RATHER BE FISHING, Silversam, FoneJacker, Canteleco, Touch Tone Tommy, KRRath, High Mesa Communications, dexman, nfcphoneman, Iwatsu Guru, hitechcomm, jknichols, Yoda, BTS01, OBT, kevinoffsite, BobRobert, metelcom, MooreTel, morephones, nortelvoip), 384 guests, and 39 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners