Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Avaya on different subnet
#96161 01/28/10 01:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 287
KX-T308 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 287
I have a customer who has a large network spread over several sites across the uk. the network addresses are ***.***.155.1 & ***.***.161.1

The system is on 161.50, I can ping it locally and all is ok, however i cannot ping it from 155.1. I can ping 161.100 (laptop) from 155.1 and vise versa.

I can use manager from 161.100 but not 155.1, any ideas

Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: Avaya on different subnet
#96162 01/28/10 05:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 828
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 828
Do you have a correct IP route built on PBX to get back to originating subnet?

Re: Avaya on different subnet
#96163 01/29/10 10:16 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 287
KX-T308 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 287
I have not done much with ip routes. What do I need to enter in the ip route table?

Re: Avaya on different subnet
#96164 01/29/10 01:24 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 828
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 828
Umm...
***.***.155.0 as address along with the appropriate gateway and interface. Have you inquired with the installing Business Partner?

Re: Avaya on different subnet
#96165 01/29/10 01:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 810
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 810
Also, does the customer have the routes built on their side to connect the 2 networks?


Pat Austin
Teleco Inc.
Product Manager/Sales Engineer
Adtran ATSP
TCTE/CTP Certified

Teleco Homepage
Re: Avaya on different subnet
#96166 01/29/10 05:06 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,573
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,573
If you can ping your laptop on the subnets, then the router is routing.

Yes, you will need a route like:
***.***.155.0
255.255.255.0
***.***.161.X
LAN1 (assuming that is the LAN port that you are connected to.)

Where "X" is the gateway IP of that subnet.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Headset in-use relay
by SST - 07/08/20 06:33 PM
Partner ACS AA
by mtncomm1 - 07/08/20 04:18 PM
Samsung SVMI20i
by crazy canuck - 07/08/20 03:40 PM
Help with Electra Elite IPK
by ECI Tech - 07/08/20 11:56 AM
SL2100 New comer
by Biztel Cuban Okie Tech - 07/07/20 08:44 PM
Who's Online Now
31 members (Skunky, Rok1215, EV607797, nortelvoip, justbill, Bob3470, Silversam, Yoda, RATHER BE FISHING, Carl Navarro, STS E, Bob-o, SST, hbiss, Curlycord, hitechcomm, pvj, jeffmoss26, Mercenary Roadie, JBean3329, ThePhoneConnection, mtncomm1, crazy canuck, barrick, nfcphoneman, Touch Tone Tommy, newtecky, MooreTel, Telesystems, VIBob, mike b), 355 guests, and 65 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,804
Posts636,316
Members49,310
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
birdlady710, haegercp, tedparkes
Newest Members
StevCom, DaleG, jlspeck, Real Estating, ForestHillChurch
49310 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
dans 10
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners