Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#108377 08/14/08 10:35 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 63
REW Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 63
Is anyone seeing more BCC III cards fail than normal. I have had three cards die all in different locations and all were installed about the same time. These cards were replaced within the last year and now they all go out again within about a week.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#108378 08/14/08 11:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,136
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,136
I haven't noticed anything like that at all - do any of the locations have any kind of power issues (if they are not on battery back-up)

#108379 08/14/08 03:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
In our world, we spell BCCIII with t-e-r-r-i-b-l-e!!!!
There have been a lot of "issues" with the BCCIII cards.
Bottom line is to give them 30 minutes (that's right, half hour) to reload, before you can consider them to be bad!!
By the way, I know of a GREAT place to get them 'fixed up'!!!


www.ResaleSystems.com 24 x 7 Mitel Parts and Free Tech Support
#108380 08/14/08 03:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Are you interfacing to PMS or VM or SMDR? If so, quit being the protector for their C--P. Get some serial line protection. DiTek comes to mind. I learned the hard way! John C. (Not Garand)


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#108381 08/15/08 07:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,136
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,136
Do you have any other modules (t1 or PRI) mounted on the BCCIII cards? Surprised 55 has had so many problems. I only encountered one and it was bad out of the box. Now "dem BON(e)s" cards are another story.

#108382 08/15/08 08:35 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
"dem BON(e)s" AND "dem BNICS". Now this is a good one, we were going to expand a 2-bay EL to 3 bays and we were having to get an upgraded MOSS, of course. We had half a dozen BNICs and wanted to put 3 into the third bay, rather then buy DNICs. Why not, we had PLENTY. Talking to Mitel, could NOT get through to the clerks what we wanted. How hard is it to understand, "We want to increase our allowed ports, and increase our allowed BNICSs from 2 to 5." "There isn't any code for that." Sure there is, we could order a new system with permission for 5, 10,even 30 DNICs, right?" "Yes." "Well then, that would be the code for 5 BNICS during an upgrade, right?" "NO."
"Huh(?), let me talk to your supervisor" "Hello, I'm (CLERK NAME)'s supervisor, what seems to be the problem." Explanation. "Oh, you can't do that." "Why not." "You just can't." "How do you know?" "I've tried it several times." Why don't the powers that be do something about it?" "I don't know, something about reliability" And THEN I started thinking about how many BNICS I had replaced and how many DNICS I had replaced. Several versus NONE. The light came on and I relented. John C. (Not Garand)


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#108383 08/15/08 12:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
There isn't a part number for adding BNIC's, and the part number for adding BONS is only valid for the ICP's.
BNICs won't even work on the ICPs.


www.ResaleSystems.com 24 x 7 Mitel Parts and Free Tech Support
#108384 08/15/08 01:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Too bad they don't just withdraw the !!!! blueface cards! frown John C. (Not Garand)


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#108385 08/15/08 11:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 63
REW Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 63
No power problems that I know of. All systems were on battery backup units. One unit was interfaced to a PMS system and I did use surge protection. I also like the Di-tek suppressors.There were no other modules on the cards except for a CIM on one of them.
I was lucky. I had two spare cards and one came back to life.

#108386 08/20/08 04:44 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 334
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 334
I had 3 BCC III go bad on a 4 cabinet system all within a year and 1 advance replacement go bad again after a few months and from what I hear from the repair guys it's a common problem for that card, they recommend going back to BCC II if you don't need caller ID on the analog ports.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,746
Posts636,437
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
DnRComm, DugEfresh
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
Toner 5
jsaad 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
3 members (Toner, nameless, SamF), 21 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5